Book Discussion · Briannas Reviews

Complicit Review! (I COULDN’T PUT THIS BOOK DOWN! IT’S A GOOD TRAP!)

4/5 stars!

Summary from goodreads!

Two years ago, sixteen-year-old Jamie Henry breathed a sigh of relief when a judge sentenced his older sister to juvenile detention for burning down their neighbor’s fancy horse barn. The whole town did. Because Crazy Cate Henry used to be a nice girl. Until she did a lot of bad things. Like drinking. And stealing. And lying. Like playing weird mind games in the woods with other children. Like making sure she always got her way. Or else.

But today Cate got out. And now she’s coming back for Jamie.

Because more than anything, Cate Henry needs her little brother to know the truth about their past. A truth she’s kept hidden for years. A truth she’s not supposed to tell.

Trust nothing and no one as you race toward the explosive conclusion of this gripping psychological thriller from the William C. Morris Award-winning author of Charm & Strange.

Thank you St. Martin’s for a copy of Complicit 😀 this doesn’t change my review at all. As always, I am honest in my reviews :). THIS BOOK IS UNPUTDOWNABLE!

What I Liked:

I could NOT put this book down, ask my sister. I literally read this book in one sitting because it pulled me in. Each chapter ends with a cliffhanger, and at one point, it rotated between Jamie’s memories and present day which made it even GREATER. Because when the chapter would end, it would end with a cliffhanger that wouldn’t be resolved until you finished reading the chapter from Jamie’s past, which was ALSO super interesting and shocking.

Nothing is as it seems in Complicit. The book keeps you guessing even well past the ending (see below!)…. The story was creepy and eerie and definitely haunting. Cate was threatening and explosive. The way the author, Stephanie Kuehn wrote her into the story was AMAZING. Her phone calls, her messages, all were just ASDFGHJKL. Seriously, she made the story intense…

What I Didn’t Like:

One of the only complaints I have is that Complicit wasn’t original, which is kind of saddening to say. The shocking twist was very predictable because it has been done several times. I can think of at least three other books at the top of my head with the same twist… Nonetheless, it was still a great, chilling book! BUUUUUT there was a second plot twist (I saw coming) that will shock readers >:D

I really wanted closure, but sadly, I didn’t get that. This is kind of open ended… in a way… I wanted to know EXACTLY what a certain person was diagnosed with, because I don’t think we got the entirely accurate diagnosis, maybe we did… but still. I wanted to know what happened to Cate, what happened to Jamie and what happens next.

Fable’s Final Thoughts:

This book is really good, even if it isn’t super original minus the second shocker! I REALLY recommend reading it, especially if you enjoy explosive stories.

One thought on “Complicit Review! (I COULDN’T PUT THIS BOOK DOWN! IT’S A GOOD TRAP!)

Leave a Reply

