Angelinas Reviews · Book Reviews

Firstlife (Everlife #1) Review

2/5

ONE CHOICE.
TWO REALMS.
NO SECOND CHANCE.

Tenley “Ten” Lockwood is an average seventeen-year-old girl…who has spent the past thirteen months locked inside the Prynne Asylum. The reason? Not her obsession with numbers, but her refusal to let her parents choose where she’ll live—after she dies.

There is an eternal truth most of the world has come to accept: Firstlife is merely a dress rehearsal, and real life begins after death.

In the Everlife, two realms are in power: Troika and Myriad, longtime enemies and deadly rivals. Both will do anything to recruit Ten, including sending their top Laborers to lure her to their side. Soon, Ten finds herself on the run, caught in a wild tug-of-war between the two realms who will do anything to win the right to her soul. Who can she trust? And what if the realm she’s drawn to isn’t home to the boy she’s falling for? She just has to stay alive long enough to make a decision… -Goodreads.com

The main reason I picked up Firstlife was because of it’s dedication, in the VERY first line Gena Showalter dedicates her book to God and His Son for inspiration. It was a nice change, and since I read that I knew I had to read this book to support it. I think it takes guts to do that, especially if people put your book down because you mention a religion. So I TOTALLY support her with that, however when it came to Firstlife, I didn’t really like it.

What I Liked:

  • The opening really drew my attention, it started with emails from a few unknown characters. It was an interesting change and opened up quite a bit of questions, questions I really wanted answers too.
  • The characters were all pretty much okay. They didn’t really stand out to me but their worlds sure did. The Firstlife was pretty much like the life we’re living now, but they got to pick where they died. Trokia a place full of light and rules, or Myriad a darker world where might equals right. Or, from what I get, the stronger the person/more important they are, the better rewards they get in their second life. They can only pick ONE world and can’t back out of that choice. If they chose neither, then they end up in Many Ends (a supposed nightmare world where pain is a constant). The whole idea, to me, was pretty awesome.
  • One of the main characters was named Killian Flynn, he reminded me of Captain Hook from Once Upon a Time, so that’s a plus xD (I’m more of a Neil person myself but hey, Killian’s pretty awesome in Once Upon a Time (I’m only on season 3…))

captain hook

The only difference is that I like the OUAT Killian WAYYYYY more than I like the Firstlife one.

What I Didn’t Like:

  • Now for the downside of things…sadly I just couldn’t get into Firstlife. I felt like it was way too long and if it was shortened, maybe it would have turned out a bit better. It was just so boring to me I couldn’t sit down and read it for hours on end because my mind couldn’t focus and I just wasn’t interested.
  • I’m pretty sure I saw a few spelling mistakes, I’m just not sure if they happened because of the scene or if it was just editing…
  • Some scenes, like the beginning one were just so unrealistic *SPOILER* Ten was subject to torture and beatings because she didn’t chose a world? That seemed highly unlikely people would allow that to happen. Sure there were reasons for this, but I mean, really? It just seemed over the top. *END SPOILER*

captain hoook

  • There were some predictable parts I saw coming, which made me sad 😦

 

Overall:

  • I really appreciated Gena Showalter’s dedication it was nice to see 🙂 despite my love for that dedication, I just couldn’t get into the book and felt like it dragged on.

2/5

6 thoughts on “Firstlife (Everlife #1) Review

  1. I’m sad you didn’t enjoy this as much! I’ve heard excellent things about this book and have been meaning to read it some time.

    Still, great review!

    Like

  2. I totally get what you mean. I love Gena Showalter’s Lords of the underworld series and her Alien Huntress series. Even her Orignal Heartbreakers is really great but I just couldn’t get into Firstlife. I kept waiting for me to get swept in, but even over half the book, I never got into it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

