Angelinas Reviews · Book Reviews

Don’t Get Caught Review (Seriously, Don’t Get Caught)

4/5

I saw the crazy cover for Don’t Get Caught and that really drew me in. After I read what it was about I HAD to read because 1. Prank Wars!  and 2. I’m a senior so Senior Pranks YAYYYYY (But I don’t think my class had a senior prank…). Anyways, Don’t Get Caught was actually pretty good!

10:00 tonight at the water tower. Tell no one. -Chaos Club

When Max receives a mysterious invite from the untraceable, epic prank-pulling Chaos Club, he has to ask: why him? After all, he’s Mr. 2.5 GPA, Mr. No Social Life. He’s Just Max. And his favorite heist movies have taught him this situation calls for Rule #4: Be suspicious. But it’s also his one shot to leave Just Max in the dust…

Yeah, not so much. Max and four fellow students-who also received invites-are standing on the newly defaced water tower when campus security “catches” them. Definitely a setup. And this time, Max has had enough. It’s time for Rule #7: Always get payback.

Let the prank war begin. -Goodreads.com

What I Liked:

-I loved the opening, it starts right in the middle of action and it seems like the main character, Max is giving himself a pep talk and trying to play it cool. Because everyone knows

Heist Rule #2 Be Cool

totally_cool.gif

-One of the best parts was the fact that Max gives rules for heists/pranks and he makes it seem like they’re so obvious that everyone knows them.

-Rarely do I feel so connected with a character, Max was someone I really REALLY rooted for. He was the kid everyone sees but doesn’t really know and I think that’s a lot like me, to be honest xD But near the end of Don’t Get Caught he really changed and I was SO happy for him. He was awesome sauce and a genius when it came to his heists.

-Another thing I LOVED about this book was the fact that different types of characters came together. A sporty guy, the troublemaker, nice girl and so on. They all had preconceived ideas about each other that were broken once they got to know each other. It was a nice change 🙂

-This book made me SO EMOTIONAL during some parts. I don’t want to spoil the moments but it made me really sad.

-I expected PART of the ending not the full thing. It was pretty shocking though!

What I Didn’t Like:

-This book wasn’t really what I expected. I thought Don’t Get Caught would be more of a prank war full of lighthearted pranks with pillows, honey and feathers. Instead it was more of a revenge story, kind of.

Overall:

-Don’t Get Caught was pretty good, it broke my heart in several places and had a main character I really connected with because he didn’t start off as a ‘somebody’. (If that makes sense…) While it was good, it wasn’t what I expected, I thought it’d be more of a ‘prank war’ and less of a light-hearted ish revenge story.

4/5

5 thoughts on “Don’t Get Caught Review (Seriously, Don’t Get Caught)

Leave a Reply

