Book Reviews · Briannas Reviews · Uncategorized

Down With the Shine

I really don’t want to start off this review on a negative note but I’m going to have too D:… This book is probably one of the most disappointing books I’ve ever read :/ or maybe the most disappointing of the year, that is still to be determined…

Make a wish…

Lennie always thought her uncles’ “important family legacy” was good old-fashioned bootlegging. Then she takes some of her uncles’ moonshine to Michaela Gordon’s annual house party, and finds out just how wrong she was.

At the party, Lennie has everyone make a wish before drinking the shine—it’s tradition. She toasts to wishes for bat wings, for balls of steel, for the party to go on forever. Lennie even makes a wish of her own: to bring back her best friend, Dylan, who was murdered six months ago.

The next morning gives Lennie a whole new understanding of the phrase be careful what you wish for—or in her case, be careful what wishes you grant. Because all those wishes Lennie raised a jar of shine to last night? They came true. Most of them came out bad. And once granted, a wish can’t be unmade…

Summary from goodreads.com!

✭✭ 2 Stars= disappointing but not awful

  • The summary of Down with the Shine plays the book off as if it will be a dark, almost horror kind of story, right? Well, Down with the Shine was pretty much the exact opposite of horrifying (minus a few scenes), it was funny. The thing with that though, I didn’t find it funny. It was a light hearted dark story, that’s the only way I can explain it. Some guy keeps killing people by turning them into cheeto dust, and Leenie gets her hand literally attached to some boy, the wishes were just plain lame, but that’s probably the alcohol in the characters talking.
  • There were two stories going on at once and I didn’t feel interested in either. They felt like after thoughts (I’m not trying to rip the book apart ok? I’m just saying my feelings so please don’t roast me on this!)… So the main characters friend Dyl was murdered, right? And she goes to a party and grants some wishes, right? Well neither of these plots felt handled very well, they didn’t feel important. The majority of this book felt like it was about Leenie trying to cope with granting wishes and trying her best not to strangle/kiss Smith.
    • She DID go to the party, ok. She did. But the party was just weird to me, it didn’t feel important to the story minus the fact that she made that all come true. It just wasn’t, as I said, as dark as the summary made it sound (which I’m mostly upset about)…..
  • I DID reaaaalllly like the idea behind Down with the Shine. A wish granter who doesn’t know of her powers and has already granted some life altering wishes (even if they weren’t that awful), HOW COOL IS THAT? The summary made me want to sign up to read it ASAP!
  • Maybe my problem was that I just couldn’t connect to the characters or the story at all. I didn’t really like any of them, Leenie was kind of funny though, but other than that, we didn’t get to feel much for them and they all felt the same… they all had the same personalities to me, no one stood out.
  • The ending… I just didn’t like it :/ but that’s the authors choice and I respect it. Needless to say, it was an interesting ending 🙂

Sorry to everyone who had high hopes for this book. BUT HEY LISTEN TO ME PEOPLE, everyone has different tastes in books so try it out, and if you do, let me know what you thought of it!

Do you agree with me on Down with the Shine, or did you love it? Let me know :)?

One thought on “Down With the Shine

Leave a Reply

