Book Reviews · Briannas Reviews · Uncategorized

Dreamology (ARC) Review!

A while back I was lucky enough to win a copy of Dreamology :D, an ARC copy! I was so excited that I dove right into it and two months later I’m done.

Ok so I loved it, that’s not why it took me so long to finish. I have had SO much school work these last few months, Senior year is soooo crazy. Anywho, on to my book review 🙂

For as long as Alice can remember, she has dreamed of Max. Together they have traveled the world and fallen deliriously, hopelessly in love. Max is the boy of her dreams—and only her dreams. Because he doesn’t exist.

But when Alice walks into class on her first day at a new school, there he is. It turns out, though, that Real Max is nothing like Dream Max, and getting to know each other in reality isn’t as perfect as Alice always hoped.

When their dreams start to bleed dangerously into their waking hours, the pair realize that they might have to put an end to a lifetime of dreaming about each other. But when you fall in love in your dreams, can reality ever be enough?- goodreads summary!

✭✭✭✭✭ 5 stars= MUST READ 

  • I am ALL about musy gushy cheesy love stories, from the synopsis, Dreamology sounded like the perfect story and in a lot of ways, it was! The romance inside the dream world was really cute, and Alice’s personality, her sarcasm and sass went so well with Max they were easy to ship!
  • But the thing is, their romance didn’t feel real to me. I get it, they were in love in dream world, and the moment they met in real life that is totally awkward, who knew dream boy was real?! But I didn’t feel it, it felt kind of forced to me (then again I am usually really harsh on romances (romance is hard to write if you ask me so props to Lucy Keating for a REALLY awesome debut book!))
  • Then there was the dream bleeding, and the resolution, my least favorite parts. The resolution was rushed and it felt a LOT like an aside and I get that it’s hard to write something like this because it isn’t real but it is a realistic fiction kind of story, BUT it just didn’t feel right (run on sentence, I know.)  The resolution was convenient and short 😦 and meh…
  • The thing that made Dreamology five stars for me, was the writing! The writing is amazing, SUPER amazing. Lucy Keating puts a lot of personality into Alice’s voice, in her head, in her dialogue, even her actions. It’s easy to like Alice and her wit, and it’s easy to see how she loves Max. The characters were adorable little people that I want to hug and never let go. The writing made them real, almost as if we were friends in real life! The detail was very beautiful too.

CONGRATS LUCY KEATING ON YOUR BEAUTIFUL DEBT NOVEL!

Have you read Dreamology yet?

 

 

10 thoughts on “Dreamology (ARC) Review!

  1. I have seen this book a lot around instagram, the cover is simply gorgeous. The plot with the dream and him being real sounds very familiar though, I think I will however still pick this up.
    Nice review! 💫

    Like

Leave a Reply

