Book Reviews · Briannas Reviews

The Shadow Queen Review (In Which I Cry A Lot)

5/5

Thank you Edelweiss for letting me read The Shadow Queen, this doesn’t change my opinion at all!

So. Uh, yeah… this is awkward. The Shadow Queen was among the top books I was looking forward to for this year, it fell flat for me. I couldn’t make it through this book, sadly I couldn’t drag myself to the end even though I made it 43% of the way to the end. So this is a DNF review… because I can’t finish this! I CAN’T!

NOTE: you’ll probably enjoy this book more than I did 🙂 I DESPISE writing negative reviews because some people wont read it after reading bad reviews. Look, just because The Shadow Queen wasn’t for me, it doesn’t mean you wont like it. Give it a shot!

What I Liked

The prologue to The Shadow Queen is A++++++! The prologue blew me away, it was dark and creepy and SO well written! It really set up the feel for the rest of the book 🙂

This book is totally reminiscent of The Huntsmen/Snow White movie :D. It was creepy and the evil queen reminded me so much of the evil queen from the movies. Because she is EVILLLL!

Irina is one evvviiiiil lady. She also happens to be the only point of view I found interesting. The evil queen is actually evil, she is nightmare inducing and *shivers* freaky. I LOVED reading her chapters.

What I Didn’t Like

After the prologue, my attention was lost. The book was boring from chapter one on and I have NO idea why but nothing interested me at all in this story. The Shadow Queen itself sounded amazing but reading it, it more or less, put me to sleep and I hate saying that, but it’s the truth. The Shadow Queen is one of the most boring books I ever read :/

Within the first 100 pages, 2 people die/almost die and it’s supposed to be tragic. Yet… I felt nothing. I’m not cold hearted, I typically feel things when characters die but their death felt more like a plot point than anything else. What I mean by that is there death felt pointless. We didn’t even know or care about these characters and they died so it was like “uh ok…” that’s the best way I can explain it…

I really found Kol and Lorelai boring. They were dry in personality and felt very similar reading there chapters. The Shadow Queen has 3 points of views, Lorelai, Irina and Kol… I managed to find interest in one of the POVS… Like I said, Kol and Lorelai were flat.

Some things just didn’t make sense to me. Why didn’t Irina confront the mirror about Lorelai to make sure she actually died all those years ago? WHY in the world did she not ask sooner? I thought that was really odd and 😛 yeah…

Fable’s Final Thoughts

The Shadow Queen is, so far, the most disappointing book I’ve read this year. Nothing about this story held my interest, so yeah… I hope you enjoy it more than I did!

4 thoughts on “The Shadow Queen Review (In Which I Cry A Lot)

  1. I know exactly how you feel. I felt the same way about pretty much everything, the only difference is that I made myself finish the book. It took me about 3 week though.
    Everything from characters, to storyline was boring and slow for me. I just didn’t feel this one.

    Like

  2. What a shame. It started out so promising, too. There didn’t seem to be much connection to the characters for you, which is so important. Bummer. If it’s the worst book so far, hopefully future books will look up and up. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

