Book Reviews · Briannas Reviews

Truthwitch (The Witchlands #1) Review! (AHHHH MERIK, SAFI, ISEULLLLT!)

3/5

Truthwitch is worth it. I think my review should end here :D. TRUTHWITCH IS WORTH IT GUYS, LISTEN TO THE HYPE, READ THIS BOOK. THE END.

….

….

I’m only half kidding XD. I am 10000000% serious about the whole YOU NEED THIS BOOK IN YOUR LIFE deal, but I’m kidding about ending my review there. I tricked you guys, didn’t it?! No? Ok… moving on…

What I Liked

Truthwitch has a GREAT cast of characters 🙂 Iseult, Safi, Merik, oh my golly goodness I am 10000000% in love with them all. Safi and Iseult’s friendship is also the greatest thing in the world. In my opinion, there are very FEW young adult books that concentrate mostly on friendship or family instead of romance, which is one reason that Truthwitch was so great. This isn’t a love story (there is romance, but it isn’t the main focus) it is a story about friendship (and running away to a safe place (which sounds weird when I put it like that)) 😀 yayyyyyy. Plus Merik and Safi’s relationship was 100% adorableness. They were bitterly cute 😀 loved their banter with all of my heart XD.

I haven’t read any of Susan Dennard’s previous books, but after reading Truthwitch, I think I might :)! Her writing is FABULOUS and THIRD PERSON PEOPLE, also rotating POVS, what else is better than that? Her sentences flow so nicely together, they are beautiful and full of imagery and, of course, various feelings. And of course the different chapters and writing style reminds me SO much of Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas. I’m not saying it’s a rip off, I’m saying this is perfect for Throne of Glass/ Sarah J. Maas fans. Strong female lead, strong friendship, great fighting scenes and use of magic and so on and so on and so on :).

The world, the magic, even the story inside Truthwitch is AMAZING. I loved the different kinds of magic, kinds I’d never heard of before! Curse witch? You gots it. The Puppeteer, yeah man, why not XD? It is magical BA DUM DUM!

What I Didn’t Like

The hardest part of reviewing this book, is the story. Ok, I know this sounds awful but pleaaaaaaaaaaaase bare with me. Truthwitch didn’t feel like it had a story. The whole entire book was spent talking about Safi and Iseult and their running away from a certain event (I wont spoil :P) and that is it. They sneak out, they hide from a creepy Bloodwitch, they run and sail and fight and run some more. The thing is, that is pretty much a summary of the story right there and I’m saddened to say it. BUT and there is a but here, it was still enjoyable.

Then… there is the ending… I did like the ending buuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuut spoilers. So MAJOR spoilers guys, don’t read it unless you want to know about the ending. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED *MAJOR SPOILERS AHEAD* [spoiler]The whole entire book was spent running away from her betrothed…. THE WHOLE BOOK. And of course in the ending Safi was all like, “fine, you can have me,’ RIGHT before she made it to the safe area *sighs* What she did for Merik was incredibly kind and yes I do understand her reasoning but still. It kind of upset me :P[/spoiler]

Fable’s Final Feelings

BUY IT. READ IT. LOVE IT. Truthwitch is just that fantastic and worth ALL of the hype.

 

4 thoughts on “Truthwitch (The Witchlands #1) Review! (AHHHH MERIK, SAFI, ISEULLLLT!)

  1. I am currently reading this book and slightly struggling to finish if I am being honest. I think because while I am enjoying the characters nothing is really happening as you mentioned. I didn’t peek at the spoiler because I am not done but I’ll pop back when I am finished reading. I enjoyed your review.

    Like

    1. Ahhh sorry you aren’t enjoying it too much :(! I keep hearing mixed things lately… hopefully you’ll enjoy it more towards the end? Thank you for stopping by also 🙂 and have a great day!

      Like

  2. I loved this book! I’ve never read a Susan Dennard book but was pleasantly surprised by how good this book was. I loved everything about it and didn’t really have any negatives. Usually, the first book in a series is bit slow (compared to later books) because of world building but I didn’t find that to be true for Truthwitch. The story was well paced and there were so many exciting and shocking reveals and twists.

    I can’t wait to see what the sequel has in store.

    Like

Leave a Reply

