Book Reviews · Briannas Reviews

Burning Glass review!

5/5

I received this book from Edelweiss in exchange for a review! Thank you so much for the opportunity :)!

So many things made me want this book. The cover, the synopsis, the idea, the story, the cover, the TITLE, the cover! And Kathryn Purdie seemed so sweet, that I HAD to read it, I HAD to. Now YOU have to read it, you HAVE to. There is no other way to put it!

What I liked

Burning Glass starts off with tossing you in the middle of an action scene. It was, probably, my favorite book beginning ever. Kathryn Purdie is a fantastic writer! The way she strings together her words for the story is haunting and amazing and SO mind boggling good O_O. So captivating and wonderful and *goes through a dictionary full of good words.*

There is nothing better than an AWESOME main character, right? The kind who kicks butt or dances or makes you cry. The kind that you want to shake because they keep opening the door to the monster? NOTHING! Nothing is better than that.The main character in Burning Glass was that awesome main character who made me want to do all of the above. DONT OPEN THE DOOR SONYA NOOOOOO. Okay but seriously, I loved this girl. She was fierce and amazing, also her ability was veeeery cool.

 

SPEAKING of her ability >:D! I haven’t heard of anything like the power to feel/sense/know emotions others are feeling. The idea was so shocking and mind boggling that I expected it to be great. BUT WAIT, THERE IS MORE! Kathryn Purdie took that interesting, new and exciting power and MADE IT EVEN BETTER. I wont say exactly how because I want you to be as shocked and mystified as I was, but wooooh baby that was interesting. LIKE WOAH.

 

Like I said above, nothing is better than a main character who is great. But you know what else is great besides chocolate? EVIL BADDIES. Yes, indeed. Burning Glass’s villain will make you angry, he will make your blood boil and your face go red because he is evil and I can’t even piece together my thoughts on him honestly. Just reaaaad it >:D

 

What I didnt like

While I loved the story, Sonya and her powers, I was sort of confused. Maybe I’m nuts or something, which is totally plausible XD but I was confused by the idea of the Auseer. Why did the Emperor have an Auseer if they could feel and take on someone else emotions? Wouldn’t that just put him in danger?

In a Nutshell

WHAT ELSE DO I HAVE TO SAY TO MAKE YOU GO READ THIS BOOK DARNNIT. Burning Glass is amazing. Period!

 

14 thoughts on “Burning Glass review!

  1. I have heard so many bad things about this book that I wasn’t planning on reading it, now I’m not sure! When I read the summary of this book, it sounded exactly like Red Queen (the girl has a different power, but everything else!). I just don’t know if I want to read that, but you made me curious because you loved it so much. But, at the same time, I’m getting so tired of reading books with the same concept over and over again.

    Anyway, sorry for the rant. Great review!

    Sofia @ Bookish Wanderess

    Like

    1. I keep seeing so many negative reviews which STIIIINKS! It was really good and it is so saddening to see so many people didn’t like it :(. I have not read Red Queen… well I read half of it and DNFed it because I could not get into it but maybe it is similar? I can kind of see that from both synopsises but I didn’t finish Red Queen so I’m not sure :O. Sounds like you have some conflicting feelings on whether or not to read this one haha, well it seems like it’s about half and half for people, either you love it or you hate it. I hope you love it 🙂 if you read it that is! Thank you for the comment 🙂
      And ranting is always ok XD!

      Like

    1. Oh my goodness, I am so sorry but your comments keep going under spam! But gladly, I found this one a lot quicker than your other one :D. Really? I will have to check out that book for SURE, because I thought it was such a cool power. I hope you enjoy it :). Have a great day!

      Like

  2. I have the need to share this site with others. I have never typed Facebook in my life with the exception of just then. Question, how do I share this site with others and stay clear of facelessbook. Please help, I want to share the site but don’t know how.

    Like

    1. There’s a button at the end of the post that says “share,” you click on that and a bunch of icons come up 🙂 to email it, you click on the mail envelope icon. Or, you can copy and paste the link of our website and share it that way 🙂 I hope that makes sense!

      Like

  3. I really wanted to read Burning Glass but I saw so many negative reviews about it. :/ I’m going to give this book a chance after reading your review, thank you! 😀

    Like

    1. OH MY GAWSH YOU ARE GOING TO LOOOOVE IT! I hope XD I thought it was amazing, I don’t know why so many people weren’t fans 😦
      thanks for stopping by Sabrina 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

