Book Reviews · Briannas Reviews

The Detour Review! (This Book! WUT IS THIS? O_O?????!)

3/5

Angelina showed me this book at Barnes and Nobles, it sounded like something we’d both like which is a rare thing. Angelina is so nice though she let me read it XD. I’m not too sure how to intro this review so I’ll just jump right in.

What I Liked

The Detour was a super quick read that only took me a few hours to finish. I mean it’s only 215 pages, that is easy to finish :D!! I love short books, but I also love long books… I was in the mood for something quick and intense and The Detour delivered that FOR SURE.

Intense. So intense. This book is about a kidnapping, I thought the kidnappers were… well I don’t want to ruin who they were BUT it wasn’t what I was expecting which made me sad but also added to the intensity. There were quite a few moments where my heart was pounding, moments that made me stop breathing because OH my goodness S. A. Bodeen managed to freak me out.

This is the first book I read by S.A. Bodeen, I’m planning on reading her other books in the future though… The thing is, I really liked the writing in this book. I was not a fan of Olivia, she was arrogant and self centered, a very tough character to love not to sound awful. However, S.A. Bodeen managed to make a character who changed and I applaud her because YAY that rocks.

A lot about Olivia is revealed through flash backs, we got to know the girl’s every dark corner.

THE ENDING WAS NUTS. I’m kind of mad about it because I want more clarity but such a great way to end it XD!!

What I Didn’t Like

Sadly, The Detour was SO predictable. By the first chapter, I had pinned down every single twist that did in fact happen, that kind of makes me incredibly upset. I wanted to be shocked :/ nothing shocked me.

Another sad not, the characters were a bit unbelievable. I don’t think this book was very realistic when it came to character types. Olivia just happened to crash land her car in an area full of crazies? Yeah, maybe places like that might exist, but it didn’t seem likely. Sorry L

Not much happened at all. Yes, I did enjoy the flashbacks and slowly getting to know who Olivia really was but other than that, nothing really happened. It was an intense story but the things that happened, again, didn’t seem to realistic. Just… some moment’s felt a bit forced?

In a Nutshell

I did like The Detour. Kind of? I did but didn’t love The Detour, it had it’s ups and downs but man oh man, if you want an intense, heart racing read *slides book in your direction*

 

3 thoughts on “The Detour Review! (This Book! WUT IS THIS? O_O?????!)

  1. This looks like my kind of book – fast-paced/kidnap-revolved/intense! Will have to check this out *mentally adds to my rapidly-growing TBR list* I occasionally like a long book, especially if the storyline is particularly capturing and engaging but for me, I will always prefer a shorter, quicker read as my attention span is less likely to run thin and I’ll feel more connected to the characters involved.

    That front cover is stunning 😮 Such a brilliant, concise review that has definitely peaked my interests!

    Like

  2. I love the sound of the intensity but not the predictability. I love being surprised and not knowing what’s going to happen. I’m glad you overall liked it well enough. 🙂

    Like

  3. Ooh, this does sound freaky. I don’t even read a lot of kidnapping books?! I think i’ve read, hmm…two. xD I mean, it’s not that I don’t like them! I just don’t see them coming up a lot? (But the actually do really scare me…ahem.) Sad that this was so predictable. I really hate being able to 100% predict books. It takes the surprise out of it. D:

    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    Like

Leave a Reply

