Angelinas Reviews · Book Reviews

The Lifeboat Clique (I’m Not Sure Where I Fit in Clique) Review

2/5

The Lifeboat Clique sounded great, and hilarious, when I read the summary I wanted to pick it up instantly. Even the cover was pretty and simple, I LOVED how it looked and sounded. But when I got to reading it, I realized that this book had me on the fence. For the first time EVER I’m not really sure how to rate this. So, once I’m done writing the review, I’m going to rate it. We’ll see how that goes. But man, oh man, is this a weird feeling. The Lifeboat Clique wasn’t my favorite but it wasn’t bad either, I don’t think it’s 5 stars or 3 stars or 2 stars or anything. I’m so conflicted.

This also happened to be the book I took the most notes on. One FULL PAGE! Well…one half page torn out and another half page next to it…

This is me, wondering what to rate it…

What I Liked

-Most books don’t make me cry, fewer things make me laugh (I know that sounds sad…) BUT The Lifeboat Clique almost made me cry. At a certain point (I won’t spoil it) the story got pretty heartfelt. But it was washed away (pun intended) by another (probably a backstory) chapter. Yet it was still a great and terribly sad moment. People always amaze me.

-The main character, Denver, was an outcast (something I could relate too). I didn’t really like her though, she was pretty rude and judgmental, but I think people might appreciate her honesty and maybe her harshness. Not everyone is nice, so maybe it’d be nice for someone else to read a character like her. I’m not saying she was a bully or anything but she was rude. (Me no likey). Her cat, however, I appreciated. She gave her cat a sassy attitude and I thought that was funny. Sonny Boy!

 

What I Didn’t Like

-There was a lot of backstory that, I felt, was pointless. Okay well there was a point, but I felt like it wasn’t needed. All the flash back chapters just bored me (I’m sorry) and I didn’t enjoy them at all. I think it wasn’t needed and it took away from the story.

-The opening. Yup. If I picked up this book and read the first chapter I’D NEVER READ IT. But I did anyways because it was a review book, and I feel terrible for not reviewing books I requested. What was so bad about the beginning? I just don’t appreciate those things, it’s not who I am. But it doesn’t bother everyone, so I still recommend trying it out!

In The Good Ol’ Nutshell

-The Lifeboat Clique leaves me on the fence. STILL. Do I like it, do I not like it? Ehhhh I don’t know. It’s an interesting idea, I’ve never read before and has some emotional moments. But the flashback chapters made me so bored I couldn’t handle it.

2 thoughts on “The Lifeboat Clique (I’m Not Sure Where I Fit in Clique) Review

  1. ooh, I think I would struggle with Denver from the sound of this? I really don’t like the super rude/snarky characters…like I do appreciate sarcasm? But when it’s bitter and awful, ugh, it just riles me up. There’s never a reason to be rude!! I probably wouldn’t rush out for this one either…but I think you did a fabulously fair and balanced review!
    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    Like

    1. Thank you šŸ™‚ I was really on the fence about this book. It’s a good idea but the characters I didn’t like that much : if you decide to read it, or one day get to it, I hope you enjoy it šŸ™‚ The idea was pretty unique though, I don’t think I’ve ever read, or heard of, a book quite like this šŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

