Angelinas Reviews · Book Reviews

Shallow Graves Review

3.5/5

I received this copy free from Edelweiss, this doesn’t change my opinion of the book at all.

What I Liked:

  • One of the nice things about Shallow Graves, was the diversity of fantasy characters. How often are there Ghouls and Nightmares (which were really interesting and new to me!)? I really liked that, but wished there were more types of monsters in Shallow Graves. And sadly…there are no dragons

Or unicorns…

  • Also, the whole idea was interesting, in the beginning and then it got really…random? It was cool because [spoiler]she woke up, identified murderers and killed them. Okay it was super creepy, but a really new idea. Then, like I said got super random, and off topic-ish?[/spoiler]
  • It started off on a creepy, eerie note but as the story progressed it got even more intense and creepier.
  • The cover was pretty and the story was descriptive, on a final note!

What I Didn’t Like:

  • Maybe I’m being too generous when I give it 3.5/5. There was a LOT I didn’t like with Shallow Graves. My biggest problem was how this (might) be a standalone. A LOT of things were left unanswered, some huge things were left in the dark. If it’s a standalone then please answer some questions, because it’s really unsatisfying. Sure it makes everything mysterious, but it gives it no point. Why did this whole thing happen? Who was *insert spoiler here*? I dunno because it wasn’t answered.
  • Shallow Graves was pretty slow, then fast, then slow. It was really hard for me to pay attention to it, for some reason, I just didn’t like it at all.

In A Nutshell:

  • I’m being generous by giving Shallow Graves 3.5. There were some great things happening, but the unanswered questions bothered me the most. Maybe I missed the answers somewhere along the ride? I don’t think I did…Anyways, it was a great idea that lacked in some area.

Angelina review templet

3 thoughts on “Shallow Graves Review

  1. I keep hearing that about this book. It’s AMAZING but then kind of fizzles out with how random and unanswered everything is. I still can’t wait to tackle this book tho ^_^ It sounds really great. But BOOOOO WHY NO DRAGONS?!?!?

    Like

  2. Hello! I’ve been reading your blog for some time
    now and finally got the bravery to go ahead and give you
    a shout out from Houston Tx! Just wanted to say keep up the excellent work!

    Like

Leave a Reply

