Book Reviews · Briannas Reviews

Passenger ARC (mini) Review!

3/5

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review, this does NOT change my opinion on Passenger. 

Well. Passenger is, was, one of my most anticipated 2016 books which does but doesn’t say a lot. I have a TON of 2016 books I am SUPER excited to read, Passenger was one that I was excited for but unsure about. I was not a fan of Alexandra Bracken’s other book The Darkest Mind (read my review here!) even though I will be finishing the series… I don’t know what to say about this book so, MINI REVIEW TIME!

  • This book starts off GREAT! The intro to the time travel idea was INCREDIBLE, the beginning was actiony, and fast paced and exactly what I wanted.

  • …. the further I got, the less interested I was. This book was boring to me, I’m not exactly sure why. Passenger did not hold my interest like I wanted it too 😦 Nothing happened. There was very little action, too many rules and wayyy to much family feud info. It felt like an info dump to me *hides*
  • I wasn’t a fan of the characters. I did like Etta and Nicholas, they just felt bland to me. Maybe I read this book at the wrong time? A good thing about the characters was the diversity! DIVERSIIIITTTYYYY.
  • They could time travel… but only with permission (kinda?). To me that stinks, A LOT. The Grandfather idea (not spoiling what I’m talking about) was boring, and to put it frankly, I didn’t enjoy it.
  • I DID enjoy the different worlds, well you know, time periods they visited :D. Alexandra Bracken did a great job transitioning between worlds.

SEE MATT SMITH AGREES*

*Note: I don’t know if he agrees or not 😦

Other than that, Passenger didn’t make me feel anything. It left me feeling disappointed :(. So far though I have the unpopular opinion here so I don’t know, try it if you want. If you’re a fan of Alexandra Bracken, you’d probably like this one 🙂

8 thoughts on “Passenger ARC (mini) Review!

  1. I’ve not read any of her books yet, but I’ve heard many good things about The Darkest Minds. Surprisingly enough, the only feedback on Passenger that I’ve gotten is “meh” or “boring”. I just got the audio book so maybe I can plow through it. It still sounds really interesting to me 🙂

    Like

  2. I’ve only heard great things about Passenger – I’m super relieved to see a meh review of it! I’m not really enjoying reading it at the moment :S For me, it’s the pacing that’s a bit off? Idk haha – thanks for reviewing this ARC though!!

    Like

    1. I know SO many people just loved Passenger, I’m glad I’m not alone, I feel like the odd one out you know XD?! I don’t know, maybe it was the pacing? I just could not fall in love with this book, no matter how badly I wanted too :(… But I think the problem is that I’m not a fan of her other books either, I didn’t enjoy The Darkest Minds… so I’m assuming that maybe her books aren’t right for me :(. Either way, sorry you didn’t like it either! That stinks!!!
      Thank you for stopping by our blog :)!

      Like

    1. I am SO glad that you enjoyed it :)! It did end up pretty big, I just couldn’t get into it so much. I think my main problem is that I’m not a huge fan of her other books so this one was kind of hard to enjoy as well, not to sound rude (hopefully that doesn’t come off as rude)…. Yeah, the romance was pretty quick 😦 but hey, at least you loved it, right :D? Thank you for stopping by!

      Like

Leave a Reply

