Book Reviews · Briannas Reviews

The Darkest Minds Review! (#ThatAwkwardMomentWhenEveryoneLovestheBookButYou)

2/5

I have no idea how to write an intro for this book… so I’ll start off by saying why I read it :D!

I read The Darkest Minds a while ago, but I never actually finished it. I loved the concept, and the writing the only problem was that the book was due back to the library. When I thought of reading it again, I was SO happy to hear that Mariam @ Flying Through Fiction was hosting a The Darkest Minds read along! HECK YES! SO EXCITED πŸ˜€

#ThatAwkwardMomentWhenEveryoneLovestheBookButYou

What I Liked

The thing that made me want to read The Darkest Minds, minus the good reviews, was the story. Duh. Kind of duh. I mean honestly, the first paragraph in the book’s summary had my mind exploding.

When Ruby woke up on her tenth birthday, something about her had changed. Something alarming enough to make her parents lock her in the garage and call the police.

Like woah. Why is she in the garage, what happened, what is happening, guys I HAVE TO KNOW. The idea was cool. Here, let me explain in a quote πŸ˜›

They were afraid of us– the ones who lived.

SEE! I know none of what I’m saying right now makes sense. So here it the gist of it, The Darkest Minds starts with a diseases that is killing kids left and right. However, the ones who survive are the problem which is a new concept to me. The survivors are people like Ruby, special kids who can do special things. I was in love with the different powers and how they are classified. The concept was so good I can’t even word my thoughts XD….

Lets be real guys, if the world inside of TDM was real, it would be freaky!

What Didn’t Like

So characters. *sigh* I didn’t like any of them *hides* but Chubs and Zu. Other than those two, I was not a fan of anyone else. The romance in this book didn’t feel real to me, it felt forced and fake and I am so sorry to say that :(. This is of course my opinion, I just didn’t like it. Ruby was always willing to give up, to give in, which is fine and it makes her different, I just found her character boring, sadly. Liam too. They just didn’t speak to me as much. the book felt kind of like a long road trip and then a camp with cool kids. I’m not trying to sound rude, I just wasn’t a fan. I didn’t find much to invest in my interest for these characters, and don’t get me wrong! Their lives are awful and horrible and no kid deserves what they went through, I just didn’t feel like they were the best characters ever.

 

My favorite thing about books is when they are unpredictable and shocking. The Darkest Minds didn’t shock me, ever 😦 I am reading the next books in the series but I didn’t gasp or feel shocked ever. Not even the ending which I heard was fantastic, it didn’t shock me *cries forever*!

In a Nutshell

Wait. I know what you’re thinking… “But Brianna, you have equal dislikes and likes, so what’s up with that? Why didn’t you give it a 3?!” Uh guys. I’m sorry *hides*. The Darkest Mind was good but the things I didn’t enjoy are too important to me in a story like this :(. A book needs to shock me, it needs to have characters I want to invest my time in, the Darkest Mind sadly didn’t deliver. BUT I did love Chubs. Chubs…But hey, I’m the outcast here, okay? This book has a TON of good reviews, GO READ IT :).

I will also be reading the next book in the series, I feel like it will get better πŸ™‚ Plus Alexandra Bracken seems so nice ❀

2 thoughts on “The Darkest Minds Review! (#ThatAwkwardMomentWhenEveryoneLovestheBookButYou)

  1. THAT GIF USAGE THO. I seriously can’t wait to read this book. Sorry it didn’t shock you 😦 you seem to be having a bit of trouble with Alexandra Bracken xD so far that’s TWO 2 star reviews you’ve given her! (I have an author like this- Danielle Paige. I just can’t seem to get into her work no matter how intriguing the concepts are) Can’t wait to see what you think of the next book in the series πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

