Book Reviews · Briannas Reviews

This is Where it Ends Review!

3/5

I received this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review, this doesn’t affect my opinion! Thank you!

This is Where it Ends is hard to review because of the topic, school shootings are no light thing, they are awful in every way. This is Where it Ends is not an awful book, it was good, it just deals with a heavy topic which my ramblings say is hard to talk about. So sorry for the rambling, I hope that made sense…

What I liked

Diversity is a hot topic in, well, everything I’d say. This is Where it Ends is probably the most diverse book I’ve ever read, all of the characters are different. Different races, religions, there’s LGBT characters and characters with different types of homes. This is Where it Ends is amazing when it comes to it’s characters because of this and more, obviously. The diversity makes it interesting to see how each of them live their lives, and how their beliefs change how people react to them, so that was AWESOME!

This HAS to be the most emotional book I’ve read in a while. Every page was intense, and heart breaking, it was a roller coaster of emotions. You could feel the characters fear, and sadness, it was overwhelming.

There are a few points of views in this book which I enjoyed a lot. We got to see what was going on all over the school during the shootings, who was doing what and where. Each POV was short, making This is Where it Ends a REALLY quick read.

What I didn’t like

While I did love the diversity in this book, I didn’t like how similar each point of view was. They were unique characters that was for sure, but each of their voices sort of mixed together. They all sounded the same sadly…

Some parts in this book was a bit… illogical is the word I think? Anyways, some parts were a bit odd, they left me scratching my head. There was a scene where Claire and Chris were running to go get police, it was a two chapter event and they never even made it. The police found them running and drove them back to the school, and to me that was a bit weird. Whatever, it’s not a bad thing.

In a Nutshell

This is Where it Ends was emotional in every way, it left me teary eyed and sad and ready to cry some more. It was a diverse, quick read and I hope you enjoy it.

brianna review templet

7 thoughts on “This is Where it Ends Review!

  1. Oh I read a review for this recently! AND YOURS OF COURSE! How INTENSE it is seems to be a big deal, and the diversity. But yeah, a common “dislike” or “puzzler” for a lot of reviewers is how illogical it is at times. Hm… I’m definitely going to have to pick up this book and see for myself! 🙂

    Like

  2. If I don’t take all day doing my 2015 survey post, I’m definitely diving into this tonight! I have a few posts I wanted to do before I started, but I’ve had this arc for forever, and I’m itching to get into it. I’m ready for a darker side of contemporary, and after reading your review and seeing that it’s an emotional read, I’m more than ready to pick it up now! Great review girl 🙂

    Like

    1. Haha those survey posts take FOREVER to finish XD I don’t think we are ever going to finish ours! I hope you enjoy it, it was emotional for sure, and definitely a darker contemporary. Thank you :D! I hope you like it!

      Like

  3. So sorry you didn’t find unique voices for each PoV but I think this book has a great potential because the issue is very timely for US folks. I’m from a different country but every time I hear news about mass shooting I just can’t. *somber shaking of head* I hope there will be more books like this.

    Like

Leave a Reply

