Book Reviews · Briannas Reviews

Wintergirls Review!

5/5

I’m making it my goal to read EVERY single book on my TBR even if I don’t like it. And honestly, I was considering removing Wintergirls from my list at first, but on a whim, I decided to borrow it from the library. I am SO glad that I did.

What I Liked

The whole book.

  • When I say this, please don’t misunderstand what I’m saying. I’m assuming no one will misunderstand but just in case, I’ll explain. I liked Wintergirls. A lot.
  • What I’m not saying is that I like anorexia or Bulimia, so don’t yell at me.
  • I think what I enjoyed most about this book, was how real it was. Not to sound rude, or put down other books about mental/physical disorders, but Wintergirls taught me much more about Anorexia AND Bulimia than I typically find in books. It was, again, not to sound rude, a horrifying experience.
  • I knew that these disorders were bad, yet no one tells the gruesome facts. Laurie Halse Anderson told those gruesome facts, so this was an educational experience, although I’d rather not know some of that stuff… it sounds painful 😥
  • The characters in this book were incredible also. I loved them all actually. The way Laurie Halse Anderson added Cassie to the book was haunting and memorable. It was an interesting addition, and definitely added to the suspense. Lia was definitely troubled with anorexia, it was really sad seeing how far she went, and how her step mother treated her.
  • The ending to this book made me cry, this whole entire book is FILLED with the feels. Be sure to bring a box of tissues L
  • On a side and somewhat random note, I was under the impression that this story was about a Winter Queen XD. It is not, although I DO think Wintergirls is a great and very fitting title.

What I Didn’t Like

Nothing.

In a Nutshell

In my opinion, I think this book is important. I’m not saying it needs to be read by everyone, but it definitely opened my eyes to both disorders.

9 thoughts on “Wintergirls Review!

  1. Well I thought it was about a Winter Queen too! But then I read your review xD I love books that get down to the nitty gritty. They don’t shy away from the REALITY of the issue. And that makes me love a story, usually. I might have to pick this book up 😉

    Like

    1. Yes, you should read it, this is the NITTY GRITTY. It was tough and mostly hard to read because of the reality of the issue. I knew Bulimia and Anorexia are awful, but not nearly as bad as it really was :/
      But it seems Winter Queen ish, right?! The title makes so much sense though when you read it 😛

      Like

  2. Wow. I didn’t know this book existed. I’m all for teaching people about mental disorders. I’m happy there’s one for anorexia and bulimia. These are serious. Completely so.
    I’m happy you enjoyed this book. And I’m happy you were educated about it. (When I first learned the truth about mental disorders, it shattered my heart. I wasn’t in that situation, but it made me feel so awful because I couldn’t help. And that’s all lumped on little middle school me. Fun, right? Haha… Sorry. Trying to cheer up a bit.)
    This makes me want to read this book now.
    Thanks for the review.

    Like

    1. So serious 😐 I didn’t realize the true nature until reading this book. I cried. A LOT. Gosh, I’m getting all the feels just thinking about it again >_____< ughhhh not fun Wren, not fun!
      If you read it, bring tissues 😥 also I hope you enjoy it too.
      Have a great day!

      Like

  3. Awesome review! Seriously LHA is so, so, so amazing with writing stores that have to deal with mental illness. I haven’t read Wintergirls yet (though I’ve read Speak and The Impossible Knife of Memory) but reading this review really makes me want to finally pick it up!

    Like

Leave a Reply

