Random Stuff

Top Ten Quotes I Loved From Books I Read In The Past Year Or So

*Ahem* I mean, happy early Thanksgiving everyone 😀 Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish :) check them out!

1.Rhysand stared at me for long enough that I faced him. “Be glad of your human heart Feyre. Pity those who don’t feel anything at all.”

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

2. EVERY SINGLE WORD IN ILLUMINAE BY JAY KRISTOFF AND AIME KAUFMAN  EVER!

But here is one example of the billions of beautiful words in that books ❤

“He presses the triggers. And like roses in his hands, death blooms.”

AND:

“You have me. Until every last star in the galaxy dies. You have me.”

AND

“The truth. Nobody’s coming for us. The place we’re running to probably isn’t safe. And there is nobody I can trust in this equation except Ezra and Byron.”

3.  Then there is the beautiful The Rest of Us Just Live Here by the fantastic Patrick Ness

“Not everyone has to be the Chosen One. Not everyone has to be the guy who saves the world. Most people just have to live their lives the best they can, doing things that are great for them, having great friends, trying to make their lives better, loving people properly. All the while knowing that the world makes no sense but trying to find a way to be happy anyway.”

4. And the greatly underestimated, WONDERFUL Siren’s Fury by Mary Weber (who rocks by the way)

“Just as the last of him disappears and the guards surrounding me prod me forward, I swear a whisper floats back. Eogan’s breath breezing across my soul, “Don’t let him take who you are.” They were Colin’s last words. Except Draewulf’s already taken who I am. What I am. Along with the people I love. I pick up following the delegates who’ve stopped to wait for me and glance down at my bandaged hands, my fingers, my gimpy wrist, as the words stir something in my soul awake. I won’t let him take any more.”

5. I can’t froget Love Fortunes and Other Disasters by Kimberly Karalius (WHO ALSO ROCKS!)

“Final exams,huh? It seems pointless to think about real life again.”
“I find test taking relaxing,” she said.
“I’m not surprised. You probably study.”

6. The Rose Society (YOUNG ELITES BOOK TWO QUOTES. SPOILERS BE WARNED!)

“We are drawn to stories,” he says in a soft voice, “and every scar carries one.”

7. Dumplin’ was VERY quotable as well!

“I think maybe it’s the things we don’t want to talk about that are the things people most want to hear.”

8. “There’s some kind of peace that comes with knowing that for every person who is waiting to be found, there’s someone out there searching.”

9. “Maybe ’cause you don’t always have to win a pageant to wear a crown.”

10. Then we have Firefight (The Reckoners #2) SPOILERISH

You’re like a potato!” I shouted after her. “In a minefield.”
She froze in place. Then she spun on me, her face lit by a half-grown fruit. “A potato,” she said flatly. “That’s the best you can do? Seriously?”
“It makes sense,” I said. “Listen. You’re strolling through a minefield, worried about getting blown up. And then you step on something, and you think, ‘I’m dead.’ But it’s just a potato. And you’re so relieved to find something so wonderful when you expected something so awful. That’s what you are. To me.”
“A potato.”
“Sure. French fries? Mashed potatoes? Who doesn’t like potatoes?”
“Plenty of people. Why can’t I be something sweet, like a cake?”
“Because cake wouldn’t grow in a minefield. Obviously.”
She stared down the hallway at me for a few moments, then sat on an overgrown set of roots.
Sparks. She seemed to be crying. Idiot! I thought at myself, scrambling through the foliage. Romantic. You were supposed to be romantic, you slontze! Potatoes weren’t romantic. I should have gone with a carrot.”

This part made me LAUGH so much! Loved it!

So what are you quotes? 🙂 We’d love to know!

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Quotes I Loved From Books I Read In The Past Year Or So

  1. “Potatoes aren’t romantic. I should have gone with a carrot” I AM ROLLING! What is this story??? WHY HAVE I NEVER HEARD OF IT BEFORE :’D this is great xD also the quotes form Dumplin’ are so SWEET AND BEAUTIFUL! 😮 And really thoughtful. They made me smile and think, “Huh, never thought of it that way.” I gotta read that book now too

    GREAT POST! You picked some fantastic quotes ^_^

    Like

  2. Oh my goodness Illuminae and The Rest of Us Just Live Here! So many beautiful quotes from those books. They are two of my favorite books that I have read this year. Great list!

    Like

Leave a Reply

