Angelinas Reviews · Book Reviews

The Gift of the Quoxxel Review

3/5

When Brianna and I were asked to review The Gift of the Quoxxel, I had a feeling one of us would like it. The summary sounded adorable and funny all at once, and the story fit that very well. This is going to be a shorter review because The Gift of the Quoxxel was a bit shorter than your average book.

What I Liked:

  • My favorite thing about The Gift of the Quoxxel was the pictures. They were bright, colorful, and very cute. I loved seeing them at the end of almost every chapter. I thought it added to the books lighthearted nature, and frankly loved them a lot. I’m usually very picky when it comes to art, but Richard Titus did a great job with his images!
  • The Gift of the Quoxxel was an interactive book. Before I began reading this book, I had never heard of an interactive book before, the whole concept sounded cool and it is. There’s music sheets to go along with the chapters you read, a glossary and the book updates from time to time. Really, it’s a cool feature I think some people may enjoy!
  • The whole story is very imaginative, and if I had to sum it up in about two words, I think peculiar and whimsical would fit it very much. Some of the characters use (what I believe to be) made up words, but they fit the world!

What I Didn’t Like:

  • I really don’t have any complaints about The Gift of the Quoxxel. I guess my one main problem was that I was having difficulty understanding what was happening. But that’s just because Fable (my dog) kept distracting me because she’s been in a biting mood lately.

Overall:

  • The Gift of the Quoxxel is a quick, whimsical story that a lot of people might enjoy. It does alternate points of views between three different characters (Norr, Gadd and Bink) but it doesn’t take away from the story at all. It’s a new book that’s interactive, and one that I think people may just enjoy. So go check it out 😀

Angelina review templet

2 thoughts on “The Gift of the Quoxxel Review

  1. As…ahem, “mature” as I am…I still love picture books. Did you read this on an electronic device? Did the pictures turn out well? (P.S. Fable is too adorable.)

    Like

Leave a Reply

