Angelinas Reviews · Book Reviews

A Thousand Nights (Took Me A Thousand Nights to Read XP)

4/5

I got this book free from Netgally in exchange for an honest review, this doesn’t affect my opinion at all!

For some strange reason I thought that A Thousand Nights was a retelling of Aladdin, well this is not the case. There’s no Aladdin at all, which was okay I guess, I just expected something different.

What I Liked:

♙The writing for A Thousand Nights was sooooo beautiful. It set a magical, somewhat mysterious aura around the story. The writing is amazing and beautiful, one of the best I’ve read all year. Another thing the writing does is make the whole story seem peculiar, which I loved. That’s what caught my attention the most and what kept me reading, honestly.

♙The only name I really knew in this story was Lo-Melkhiin’s name which is SOOOOOOOOO cool. Seriously it sounds and looks awesome! I think his name was the only one they really mentioned outright. I don’t think the main character’s name was even mentioned O.o but ya know Lo-Melkhinn’s name is sweet!

What I Didn’t Like:

♙A Thousand Nights didn’t really have a story. Or, it did, but it was incredibly slow. The majority of the book the main character (I don’t think they even mentioned her name O.O) sat around most of the time afraid she was going to die.

♙ I wasn’t sure if it was just me but the ‘bad’ guy didn’t even seem that bad. He was supposed to be this killer but he didn’t even act like one. He never seemed threatening or scary at all, he was just kind of there. I wished the ‘bad’ guy seemed scarier, but hey, you win some, you lose some.

♙The resolution seemed a bit too easy in the end. I expected more of a terrifying battle, but I didn’t get that at all.

Overall:

It may have seemed like I didn’t like A Thousand Nights all that much but this is NOT the case. I really, really liked it despite the slow plot and easy resolutions. The writing was what kept me there the longest, it was the best part of A Thousand Nights by far!

 

Angelina review templet

One thought on “A Thousand Nights (Took Me A Thousand Nights to Read XP)

Leave a Reply

