Book Reviews · Briannas Reviews

Paperweight Review!

3/5

Okay, so I admit it, I was interested in this book because of the cover. Look at it, it’s so pretty and blue/green with clouds and birds and asdfghjkl;! When I read what Paperweight was actually about, I wanted to read it.

What I liked

At first, I wasn’t sure how I was going to like this book. Was it going to be super super super sad (it sounded like it)? Was it going to be a bit light hearted (I didn’t think so :P)? Paperweight was actually good. I enjoyed the characters, even if Stevie wasn’t so nice at first (see what I didn’t like)… Shrink/Anna was very motivational, she had a way with words @_@! Ashley was super sweet annnnnnd that brings me to my next point!

Paperweight was diverse, or to me it was at least :P! Don’t judge. These characters all had different reasons for being anorexic/bulimic, I won’t go into details, you know spoilers and all that jazz, but they were definitely unique in personality as well J

I’ve never read a Meg Haston book before, so this was my first. She is a fantastic writer, I just loved how we got to see Stevie change over time! I enjoyed how she had flashbacks, leading up to how her brother died, these scenes were put in without disrupting the flow of the story :D! So awesome.

What I didn’t like

Like I mentioned, Stevie wasn’t the nicest character in the beginning. I get that though, she was forced to go to treatment, forced away from her home. She lost her brother and her mother, she lost so much. So yeah, Stevie wasn’t my favorite at first, but she did grow on me.

In a nutshell

Meg Haston’s Paperweight is a story about a grieving girl who copes with the loss of her brother in a different way. The book was a rollercoaster of emotions, mostly sadness I’d like to add. Paperweight made me cry a few times… With a good cast of characters and fantastic writing, Paperweight is a book that should be read :D!

2 thoughts on “Paperweight Review!

Leave a Reply

