Book Reviews · Briannas Reviews

The Scorpion Rules Review! (#Make It Personal)

4/5

I received this book for free from NetGalley! This does NOT change my opinion of the book at all. Thank you NetGalley XD!

I’ve been very excited about The Scorpion Rules for a really long time now, the cover, title and summary captivated me! The Scorpion Rules is a goat filled, heart pounding story with a cherry on top, or should I say an AI on top, since AI rule this world.

What I enjoyed

The idea of kids being taken as hostages of war / Children of Peace is really interesting to me. I heard that this used to happen, I read that somewhere… Anyways, I enjoyed what The Scorpion Rules was really about! A world where AI rule, a place where children of Royalty/leaders are kept captive and killed if their parents declare war. One would think peace would be more attainable right? So the idea of Children of Peace is a bit twisted, but the story proved to be AMAZING!

Let’s start from the beginning shall we? The very first chapter of this book had me on the edge of my seat, I was GLUED to the Nook’s screen, literally GLUED! This book was hard to put down, and even harder to ignore. The beginning was intense, it left your heart pounding, it made you wonder what the heck was going on! It was fabulous 🙂

The AI in this book were crazy INTENSE! Uh, that sounds a bit funny but hear me out! They me with goosebumps, they sent chills down my spine especially in the first 50%. Afterwords, I did end up loving the Abbot and Talis, although in all fairness Talis gave me the creeps. He is one creepy dude… er… AI!

GOATS :D! There were lots of ’em and I LOVE goats. This is not a biased opinion at all. It is fact!

The Scorpion Rules is diverse, which a lot of people will love. Diverse books are in demand, and Erin Bow delivers! These kids are royalty from around the world, and there is even some LGBT characters! Such diversity! Much awesome.*

*There is nothing wrong with white, straight, female characters! But it is nice to read about characters who are different than the norm in YA literature 🙂

What I didn’t enjoy

The romance in this book! PLEASE don’t get me wrong! There is a love triangle, and the love happens way too fast, it’s like instant love, it has no build up it just happens. For both of Greta’s love interests she just kisses them and BAM she is in love. Maybe. Sometimes she isn’t sure, and I wasn’t either.

The ending of this book made me squeemish. Blech, it was kind of graphic without being graphic >_< I don’t want to think about it!

In a nutshell

The Scorpion Rules started as an intense ride and ended with a boom. From the beginning, I was captivated, my attention snatched! Erin Bow writes a story that demands to be read in all it’s goat glory!

brianna review templet

Leave a Reply

