Book Reviews · Briannas Reviews

Rome in Love Review! (When in Rome…)

4/5

Thank you to St. Martin’s Press for a review copy of this book, this does NOT change my opinion on Rome in Love at all.

What I Liked

I’ve never read an Anita Hughes novel before, ever. Rome in Love, however, makes me want to change that! Anita Hughes is a fantastic author who managed to make me love Phillip and Amelia as the story went on. Rome in Love is written in third person and rotates point of view, going from Amelia to Phillip and so on. Both points of views were enjoyable, although I did really like reading Audrey Hepburn’s letters, and seeing Sophie and Amelia’s friendship grow. The way that she wrote this story was really detailed, it drew a picture of Rome inside my head and made me VERY hungry!

Like I said, I adored the characters! Sophie was adorable, and her romance with Theo made me so happy! It was entertaining to watch friendships grow into love, to see Phillip struggle to do what’s right and Amelia try to fit into her role in the remake of Roman Holiday, which I have never seen! While reading this, I actually realized why Audrey Hepburn sounded so familiar, she was in The Twilight Zone! Man, I love that show. Anyways, Amelia and Phillip both had great voices, each of their stories were hard to put down. It was very interesting to read about Phillip’s family matters, don’t worry, I won’t spoil the ending for you :).

What I Didn’t Like

Actually, there is nothing really to put in here. The only thing I didn’t like so much about Rome in Love, was Philip’s reason for dating Amelia. Sure, he thought she was pretty, but it is kind of despicable to date a girl to save your career, anyways, that isn’t a problem with the story so much as something I didn’t like. Without his Father trying to force him into his company, this story couldn’t have happened, it wouldn’t have been as dramatic and Philip and Amelia may not have fallen in love.

In a Nutshell

Anita Hughes writes a fantastic story about love set in Rome. With a cute cast consisting of a Princess, and actress and a journalist, it’s easy to fall in love with Rome in Love. Read it people, read it now!

*This is an adult book, just so you know 🙂

brianna review templet

 

Leave a Reply

