Book Reviews · Briannas Reviews

Denton Little’s Deathdate Review- wasn’t the death of me (it was funny!!)

4/5

I keep seeing this book every where… at first it was Waiting on Wednesdays… then Top Ten Tuesdays, reviews, spotlights! Come on, give me a break! I wasn’t going to read it until I read Paper Fury’s review, which was enough to convince me to go out and get Denton Little’s Deathdate and I am glad I did :)!

What I Liked

When I first read what this book was about, I put it down. I’ve never read anything like it! I mean, why is the kid turning purple? What is this love triangle deal? Why does he have to die at prom? Okay, all those questions aside, THIS BOOK WAS GREAT! Yup, I said great. I know, I know, I didn’t give it five stars or anything  but it was still GREAT! The idea behind knowing when you are going to die is really unique, I think I only know one, or two books sort of like it. Denton Little is supposed to die during the book, he goes to HIS Funeral (yup, his Funeral…) and HIS Sitting! I liked the idea of the Sitting, although it seems kind of morbid. At the sitting, his closest friends and family member comes together to wait until he dies. Yeah… morbid right? It was such an interesting idea, having every person know their death! Would you want to know when you will die?

There is a TON of dialogue, which made this book easy to read and funny. Yes, below in the “Bad” section, I said it wasn’t funny, but the dialogue could be seen as funny. Some of the things the people say was a bit strange/interesting/weird/funny… The dialogue made the book’s voice even better, it showed the main characters wit/sarcasm/etc.  I really liked all of the characters, even nutty Phil! Yeah Phil was a nut, a real big nut but I mean come on! All of the characters were strange, and a bit funny. Denton was turning purple for goodness sake :)! It was easy to like them (maybe not Phil or HorribleCop…)

https://i2.wp.com/25.media.tumblr.com/4136842493e32d3fb7ef80c6b1033a84/tumblr_mhem4z5LC01s4xdz1o1_500.gif

Hey! Look at that! Snape approves.

What I Didn’t Like

Denton Little’s Deathdate was supposed to be funny. Supposed to be. I think it was laugh encouraging near the end when he was turning purple and once I got used to his voice. Denton was funny, the dialogue was funny, but it wasn’t enough to make me laugh out loud! The only time I actually did laugh out loud was when he yelled at the Squirrel (long story) that was SO funny to me! I was still disappointed that it wasn’t as funny as I hoped 😦

 photo tumblr_lv58mehWt61qbu9pt.gif

😥

In a Nutshell

Denton Little’s Deathdate didn’t blow me away but it was FANTASTIC! I still can’t get over the cool idea and the purple main character. The story is funny, interesting and oh so hard to put down! Can’t wait for the next book!

brianna review templet

Leave a Reply

