Memes

Top Ten Tuesday- Wonderfully Diverse Books to Dive into!

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by the Broke and Bookish you can find them HERE!!!!!

Who doesn’t love it when a book branches out to be a bit different? Nothing is wrong with white female characters, but it is very nice to see characters of different races, views, body types, etc. Today we celebrate Diverse books in YA fiction because we are all different, and we are all perfect ❀ πŸ™‚

SimonvstheHomoSapiensAgendabyBeckyAlbertallicinderthe rest of us just live here5 to 1the lightning thiefΒ  hello I love youEleanorParkbyRainbowRowell

I know this isn’t ten! I just can’t think of many super diverse books which is a bit depressing…

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda is about a not very openly gay Simon who is being black mailed…This book is REALLY good, I seriously recommend it πŸ™‚ I support the LGBT community even though I am a straight Christian πŸ™‚ Love one another people! You rock no matter who you love ❀

Cinder has characters from just about EVERYWHERE! Cinder is from China (I believe) Scarlet is from France and well… Cress if from a Satellite πŸ˜€ A SATELLITE :D!

The Rest of Us Just Live Here is the MOST diverse book I have ever read. Each of the characters are so different, one has OCD, another is African American, there’s even a character whose the Grandson of the cat goddess XD This book is FANTASTIC :D! Please don’t ever be ashamed of who you are πŸ™‚

5 to 1 is set in India where population has gone nutty. There are 5 boys to every 1 girl, so they hold games to auction off girls to the winner πŸ˜›

The Lightning Thief is the second most diverse book I have ever read. Yeah, all of the characters are pretty different XD! I just love it okay? Maybe it isn’t SUPER diverse but they really are all different. Like Nico πŸ˜› I like Nico, poor kid 😦 just because he is the son of Hades doesn’t mean he is evil!

Hello, I Love You takes place in South Korea… so this is awesome okay? Korea maaaan, Korea! KPOP DUUUDE! I love Kdrama too XD

Eleanor and Park is about a Korean (he is Korean? right? Or am I crazy?) and a bit odd (but cool!) Eleanor who isn’t like any other YA main character. Eleanor is sassy, she wears boy clothes and doesn’t have the “perfect” body. I put perfect in quotes because there is NO such thing as a perfect body, every one is beautiful.

I think it is safe to say we need more diverse YA books. More books with boy main characters, characters of different races, body types and diseases, etc. Because people, you rock and rule :3

So what diverse books would you like to see? What is your favorite diverse book or character?

I would like more books set in different countries πŸ™‚ With characters who are who they are :D! Like Asian, Native American, African American, Russian XD the possibilities are endless. My favorite Diverse book has to be The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness, because he rules, because it rules, because it was FANTASTIC asdfghjk πŸ™‚

 

Leave a Reply

