Angelinas Reviews · Book Reviews

Anna and the French Kiss (Had No French Fries) Review

4/5

Anna and the French Kiss was one of those books I had never planned on reading. I’m not really interested in modern day romances, I’m not a huge fan of romance for some reason. It’s not because I thought it sounded lame it was because it just never interested me. Well I kept hearing great things about it and one of my friends said it was her favorite book so I thought, ‘hey, why not read it?’ And I did, and I thought it was pretty great!

Anna and the French Kiss was one of the more creative modern day romance books Ive read, sure I don’t read a lot under that category but I did appreciate it! The story takes place in a Paris boarding school that the main character, Anna, is sent to against her own freewill. She doesn’t know many things about France, she doesn’t know French and she doesn’t want to be there. Anna wants to go home where it’s safe, so she wont feel like a tourist wearing white sneakers, and will get to see her friends again. I don’t blame her for wanting to go home, but I feel like if I were in her situation I’d be a bit happier. I mean she’s in PARIS 😀 That’s like the adventure of a lifetime!

Anyways, Anna makes friends, falls in love and into the clutches of drama, so on and so forth.

She meets St.Clair who was the awesome first name of Etienne and has an English accent.

“Seriously, I don’t know any American girl who can resist an English accent.”

I feel like this is so true!

St. Clair was a rather lovely character, a character I really enjoyed. He’s nice, has a rather clean room (a random good point I know!) and has a LOVE for history. I love history and his random facts xD I did like him through most of the book but there were some parts where I was quite frustrated with him. I did get frustrated with Anna a bit too (spoiler)[spoiler]I mean come on it’s SOOOOOOOOOOO obvious she lurves him!!!!)[/spoiler](end spoiler)

https://i2.wp.com/31.media.tumblr.com/tumblr_lz1a99qC7C1qemz6qo1_500.gif

Anna I enjoyed as well. She was a different kind of main character, not very typical and pretty unique. She had a love for classical movies and wrote reviews for movies on her website! Her friend called her Banana and she bought Anna and banana because of it. Their friendship seemed great but what happened between them (I though) was rather predictable. I guessed it before I was even halfway through the book.

All of the characters relationships were absolutely wondrous! There was a great amount of friendships that I really enjoyed and yes there was drama *sighs*. I guess you can NEVER escape drama.

Overall:

Anna and the French Kiss wasn’t a book I was planning on reading, but the great reviews, and a recommendation from my friend made me read it. Did I regret it? No. It was actually quite good and rather funny (at some points) but a bit predictable too. Do I recommend it? Yes 😀

Angelina review templet

7 thoughts on “Anna and the French Kiss (Had No French Fries) Review

    1. I haven’t read Lola and Isla’s books yet but I did like Anna’s story :)! Glad to hear that you liked it though, this book is definitely a popular one from what I have seen.

      Like

  1. Glad you liked this one! My personal favorite is Lola and the Boy Next Door, but I still think the other two are fabulous books! I agree with the point you made about it being predictable at times. I think that’s the only thing I didn’t particularly enjoy about it. I hope you enjoy Lola and Isla when you get to them!

    Like

    1. Yeah predictability is okay XD but I’m glad it worked out for them all in the end! I hope I enjoy Lola and Isla when I manage to read them too ^^ I’m sure they’re great! Thanks for the comment!

      Like

  2. I’m really glad you enjoyed this one for the most part, especially if contemporary isn’t usually your thing! I’ve also heard so much about this series. The setting sounds really fun, and yeah I would definitely be a lot happier if I was in her situation, haha. Totally right about the accents things ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

