Book Reviews · Briannas Reviews

Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda Review!

3/5

I don’t read Contemporary books often (or like ever!) but I heard so many wonderful things about Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda. Now, I’d rather get lost in crazy fantasy worlds, or some place out in space where anything is possible, but I did find that Beck Albertalli’s debut book held my interest from page one.

My 3 star review may mostly be because I’m not a SUPER huge fan of anything Contemporary, so please keep that in mind :)!

Good

Simon’s voice was super super super cute! Yes, that may sound weird, but the way this book was written made him sound sarcastic and funny and made me love the story even more. Simon was not boring, he made the story even better by adding his little comments that made me smile.

Every other chapter (or few chapters) we got to read Blue and his email conversations. The emails were a nice touch if you ask me because we got to know Blue, and see how their conversations evolved over time.

Trying to figure out who Blue really is was difficult! I was wrong people, WRONG!!!!! I liked how there was a bit of mystery in this, for every character I was like “IS THAT BLUE? BLUE ARE YOU THERE? OH MY GOOOSH JUST TELL ME?!”

This book was cute, super super cute! I am not a part of the LGBT community, I am straight as they say, but I do support them. Simon and Blue were adorable and I literally ship them so hard. The book was filled with adorable lines and cute stuffs I just can’t!!! I CAN’T!

Bad

Really, there wasn’t anything bad about this book. Like I said earlier, if I was a fan of contemporary, maybe I would have loved it. I know, I know, you are Probably thinking “wait a second! You gave this 3 stars because it was Contemporary? Uh that isn’t fair!” Well, for one thing I was TOO EXCITED for this one… Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda is a victim of The Hype Monster, a.k.a. I am to easily excited D:!  And for another, even though I loved how this was written, at times I had a hard time getting into the story. I was SO angry at Martin all the time though….

Verdict

Read it, love it, hug it. Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda has a TON of good reviews and love. Go ahead, pick it up and dive into a cute, funny, sad (at times D:!) story. Please let me know if you enjoyed it :)!

Have you read Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda yet???? Did you love it? Did you not love it?

Quotes

“The way I feel about him is like a heartbeat — soft and persistent, underlying everything.”

“He talked about the ocean between people. And how the whole point of everything is to find a shore worth swimming to.”

“People really are like house with vast rooms and tiny windows. And maybe it’s a good thing, the way we never stop surprising each other.”

Books you may enjoy!

the five stages of andrew brawley aristotle and dante FANGIRL_CoverDec2012

*Titles are links to the books goodreads page!

The Five Stages of Andrew Brawley

Another LGBT book with an interesting voice and main character. The comics Andrew drew were a cool addition to the story :)!

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe

A REALLY good LGBT book that I would SO recommend!

Fangirl

Rainbow Rowell is a great author, and Fangirl was a great book. I loved the Simon and Snow fan fiction parts the best (Even though people say it’s a lot like Harry Potter….) it is definitely worth the read.

brianna review templet

 

Leave a Reply

