Angelinas Reviews · Book Reviews

Wicked Lovely (Was Wicked and Kind of Lovely) Review

3/5

I read Wicked Lovely for the first time when I was in Middle school and I absolutely loved it. I remember that the beautiful cover stood out to me the most in our towns tiny library and I already read all of the Little Women books they had there so that’s why I started reading Wicked Lovely. Despite my love for the book, when I read it the first time through, I never finished the series (even though almost the whole series was published) so that’s me new goal now. I’m going to try and finish the story I loved so much in Middle school!

The Good:

Wicked Lovely is still as magical as it used to be. The Faeries are still wonderful and unique, I love the separation between them. There’s the Dark, High (I think that’s what it’s called), Summer and Winter Court each behave and appear differently. I love the creativity of their world and the charm that they give off. They are all so different I love it. I haven’t read a lot of other books with Faeries (I think this might be the only one I’ve read!) so I don’t know if it’s typical for them to be like that but I suspect they are divided  anyways.I guess that’s what I liked most about Wicked Lovely.

Honestly this wasn’t my favorite so I’m hoping I’ll enjoy the next few books more and I’m pretty sure I will!

­

The Bad:

Sadly, I didn’t love Wicked Lovely as much as I used to. The writing didn’t really stick with me, it didn’t blow me away as like it did the first time around (but it’s good, don’t get me wrong). I think this is a book that’s better read the first time through because I surprisingly remembered almost everything that happened , nothing was too shocking anymore. I still don’t like Aislinn for some reason her actions and decisions kind of frustrated me, I get that the Faeries were terrible but that doesn’t mean all of them are bad! Kennen (whose name I LOVE) isn’t that bad he never tried to hurt her…

Overall:

Wicked Lovely wasn’t as good as it used to be, sure I still like it, but there were a few things that I didn’t like as much. I’m still going to read the next book because I vow to finish this series!

Angelina review templet

