Angelinas Reviews · Book Reviews

The Witch Hunter (Didn’t Have A Lot of Witch Hunting) Review

2.5 /5

I received this book free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review, this does not affect my opinion AT ALL!

I didn’t really know what The Witch Hunter was about since it was one of Brianna’s requested books. I just thought the cover looked cool and the title sounded like an action packed, witch hunting story. Well there was action, but there wasn’t a lot of witch hunting.

The Good:

  • I’ve never read a book with witch hunters in it before. I’ve played The Witcher Wild Hunt but a Witcher isn’t exactly a Witch Hunter..they aren’t alike and if I were to chose the one I’d like better, I’d say I liked The Witcher better. Sorry…I just couldn’t get into this book! One thing I LOVED about this book was how the action scenes were written. They were descriptive so the whole book was pretty much a movie in my head (I didn’t really like The Witch Hunter, but it’d be a GREAT movie!) The author also did a GREAT job creating and writing monsters, they were creepy and wonderfully done *cue the applause*!Β  Another thing is that the Kingdom is called Anglia (I think it’s missing an ‘e’ and an ‘n’ because it’s really supposed to be Angelina because the Kingdom is MINE!) *
  • *She is kidding about the kingdom being hers πŸ™‚ because it is MINE! -Brianna

The Bad:

  • The main character had an issue with trusting the nice people, which I guess is understandable, for me though, I found it a bit annoying. She should have realized that someone would find out who she was…but like I said her lack of trust made sense. And can we please all glare at one certain character *GLARE* *ENDLESS GLARE* I NEVER liked him anyways…but still! One of the main issues I had with The Witch Hunter was the lack of actual Witch Hunting. Perhaps I was a bit misguided by the title and disappointed by not reading the plot first (this was, after all, a book Brianna originally wanted to read) but I was sad. I wanted more Witch Hunting, more evil witches that cackled under a full moon with their black cats and whatnot.

Overall:

  • I still suggest you give The Witch Hunter a try because you might like it! I expected more witch hunting and it sadly didn’t deliver. But the DESCRIPTION and DETAIL were A-MAZIN’!!!!
  • You get description like this

  • But I REALLY wanted this

https://i2.wp.com/38.media.tumblr.com/440a133121ebb3f007cbc85685afde8c/tumblr_ndymaeIExP1qmgmtbo2_500.gif

 

Angelina review templet

8 thoughts on “The Witch Hunter (Didn’t Have A Lot of Witch Hunting) Review

  1. I wanted to read the Witch Hunter because it sounds like something I’ve never read before!! After reading your review I don’t know whether I should read it… Maybe I’ll give it a go?? I loved this review!! πŸ™‚ x

    Like

    1. I think you should still read it πŸ˜€ I know of a few people who loved the book so much! You might be one of those people πŸ˜€ thanks for the comment!

      Like

  2. I just LOVED how you summed up reality vs expectations with those two gis! I WOULD BE LIKE THE SECOND ONE TOO. Witch hunting makes me think of scary darkness and creepy catastrophes. And actual hunting. So, um, yeah that would bother me. I kind of want to try this one! Witches aren’t my utter favourite, but some daaaaay I will eat it.

    Like

    1. Thank you πŸ˜€ I LOVE using Gifs! I really wanted the creepy dark kind of witch hunting and sadly I didn’t get that T.T but you should still read it! You might enjoy it! You never know, maybe it tastes good?!? πŸ˜€

      Like

  3. I picked this book up at BEA so I’ll probably read it sometime this summer. Kind of ironic that the book doesn’t contain a lot of actual witch hunting, but I guess it makes sense based on the book summary. Nicholas probably wouldn’t like it much if she went around killing all of his friends haha πŸ™‚

    I’m surprised the descriptions were more like the first gif and not the second one. Especially with the creepy snake cover D:

    Like

  4. Hi! I’m Shar, and I’m also a twin. It really annoys me when books don’t seem that related to their titles… after all, the title and cover are usually the first things you look at when you read a book. So it’s disappointing that this didn’t deliver… but witch hunting is really interesting anyway. And those descriptions sound nice… Thanks for your review!

    Like

Leave a Reply

