Book Reviews · Briannas Reviews

Hello, I Love You- Review!

3/5

I received this book from St. Martin’s Press in exchange for a  review. THANK YOU SO MUCH St. Martin’s Press for this book. I write all my reviews honestly, and this is just how I felt about Hello, I Love You. As always, give the book a chance :)!

 

Good

My biggest reason for YEARNING for Hello, I Love You? Korea. Most (OKAY, maybe like the majority!) of Young Adult books I know of are set in America (England is popular too…) Hello, I Love you had a very interesting, very unique setting. Grace (randomly) chose Korea as her destination to get away from home. Now, being a fan of Kpop (and Korean things in general I mean come on :D!) might make me a bit biased, but that scored huge points with this book. I loved how Katie M. Stout introduced us to a new country and their culture :)!

Katie M. Stout is a FABULOUS (YES FABULOUS) writer! I really enjoyed how she made the characters personalities change over time. She did a great job adding in Korean words and food making me wish more than ever, that I at least knew the pronunciation for each syllable… I mean I’m learning Japanese but Korean would be so cool.

Jason and Grace were definitely not a love at first sight couple. They HATED each other like crazy, so it was cute to watch them slowly fall for each other :D!

Bad

Reading through the book, it is hard for Grace’s bitter, cold personality to go unnoticed. She constantly has negative thoughts about the food, culture, people and general life in Korea. I would like to point out that her sass (yes sass! Grace is full of sass!) could be partially a side affect of homesickness and culture shock. When I went to Japan over the summer to experience life there, my culture shock made me a little negative/depressed at first (and a WHOLE lotta hungry) but after a while I began to become used to life in Japan. But I would also like to point out that she spent a whole school year in Korea, and was still bitter… So yes, Grace was rude, it made the book a bit hard to enjoy with her snide comments.

Another major downer for me was how little Grace cared for her friends and Korea in general. I guess this mainly goes with the point above, but some of her comments about Sophie were incredibly rude and put Grace (in my mind) as a bit judgmental.

 

Verdict

While Hello, I Love You’s main character made the book a little (teensy bit) hard to enjoy, the idea, setting and other characters were all adorable. The plot was easy to love overall and pleaseeeee give it a chance :)! I don’t want to discourage anyone from reading any books so please check it out and support a new author.

brianna review templet

Will you be reading Hello, I Love You? Do you like Korean food? Music? Dramas???? Let us know :D!

* Note: I love Kpop! Exo, 2NE1, and cnblue are my favorites ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ *

Leave a Reply

