Book Reviews · Briannas Reviews

The Sin Eater’s Daughter Review

2/5

The Sin Eater’s Daughter by Melinda Salisbury was one of the books I was most excited for 2015, alongside A Court of Thorns and Roses, Queen of Shadows and Winter. Sadly, it didn’t live up to my expectations which may be because of my over excitement so keep that in mind as you read my review.

*This is my third time writing this review because the internet isn’t saving it… I just hope it’s as good as my first time haha.*

Good

 

🌟 I haven’t read TOO many books with ideas found in The Sin Eater’s Daughter. I enjoyed the new mythology, and strange ideas, so for me, that is a huge plus! Everything about this book for me was unique 🙂

🌟 The un-expected twist! I loved, well you know loved but hated, reading the twist. Reading it was like a punch in the gut or a slap to the face even if I did almost guess it.

🌟EVIL QUEEEEEEEEEEEEN! I always (literally always) mention the bad guys. The Sin Eater’s Daughter’s main baddie was the Queen, and even though she wasn’t in the book that much, she was evil. All of her actions freaked me out, just the way the author wrote her was so well done it’s hard not to see the evil living with in the Queen.

🌟 I’m hoping the second book (I’m assuming there is a second book) is better since the author explained everything we needed to know already. Or did she… :)? I will be reading the next book to see where she decides to take the story, it should be interesting to see how the events of the ending play out.

Bad

🌟 The whole un-expected twist thing… I guessed and was half right! Half right! HA! This excites me, but at the same time it wasn’t that shocking…

🌟 The Sin Eater’s Daughter had a really interesting idea, but there wasn’t a whole lot of Sin Eating or poison killing… I expected more action, and more from the main character but instead got a lot of beautiful descriptions. I’m not complaining about the wonderful descriptions Melinda Salisbury went into, in fact it was one of the most well written books I’ve ever read. I was just a tad bit disappointed that the whole book seemed to be pretty descriptions instead of fast pace, intense plot.

🌟 For me, most of the characters were a bit flat. I did enjoy how evil the Queen was and how strange every person was written, but I felt as though they lacked some personality. Most of the characters didn’t stay in the story long with the exception of Leif, the Prince, and Twilia of course so we didn’t get to see many other characters.

🌟Plot wise, The Sin Eater’s Daughter was not what I was expecting. This wasn’t the most eventful book and I’m not saying nothing happened. The ending half was pretty explosive!

Verdict

While The Sin Eater’s Daughter was not my favorite, it does get a lot of love from others. I wouldn’t discourage people from reading it, in fact go ahead and read it! I want to know what you thought of this interesting tale. Even though this story was slow paced with beautiful descriptions and not too many super super exciting events, it is worth a shot.

Other book you may enjoy 🙂

shatter me the kiss of deception throne of glass

Shatter Me by Tahera Mafi– Another girl whose touch is lethal!

The Kiss of Deception by Mary E. Pearson– because it is High Fantasy and wonderful!

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Mass– A book about a super awesome Assassin set in another High Fantasy world? Amaziiing!

Did you enjoy The Sin Eater’s Daughter???

3 thoughts on “The Sin Eater’s Daughter Review

  1. The Sin Eater’s Daughter was my most anticipated book of the year, but it really fell flat for me. It had intriguing concepts and the writing was beautiful, but the incredible lack of plot was really strange. I’m still interested to read the sequel, though — because the last 50 pages really packed in all the so-far-missing action and plot.

    Like

    1. Oh I know what you mean haha, that ending! I can already see all the potential for the next book, I am SO excited to see how it all plays out. I agree with you though, it was a bit strange…
      Thank you for stopping by and have a WONDERFUL day :)!!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

