Book Reviews · Briannas Reviews

Spelled Review

 5/5

I received this book from the publisher Sourcebooks Fire via NetGalley! Thank you so much Sourcebooks Fire for the fantastic read!

 

There is nothing better than a good fairy tale retelling, nothing except an even better fairy tale retelling! Yes I just went there :)!

Dorthea’s arranged into a marriage she doesn’t want to be in, a marriage that’s used to form an alliance with a kingdom she’s never heard of. A wish is all it takes to fix that, only the wish does much more than grant her her desires, it also breaks the rules. Now Dorthea has to work with Prince Kato, the man she was supposed to marry and Rexi a sassy servant to restore order.

Spelled is an Oz retelling, but it’s also so much more! There are so many fairy tale references throughout the book that it’s hard not to smile or laugh. This book takes the best, and worse of every fairy tale and puts them together in a wonderful story.

The characters were adorable, all of them loveable after a while. It’s always nice when characters change, because if you were in the story, wouldn’t you become different after going through all that loss or peril? It was really interesting to see how these enemies went to friends, more or less. By far my favorite thing to watch was Kato and Dorthea 🙂 they’re so cute, and how Rexi and Kato always bicker was hilarious!

The plot was un-put-downable, no joke I couldn’t put it down (except when I had to go to school :/)! Spelled was filled with so much action, heart burning moments and jokes!

THE ENDING WILL LEAVE YOU IN TEARS!

I guess what I’m trying to say here is that everything about Spelled was enjoyable. From the funny jokes, to the fairy tale glittered story, there was noting I didn’t like about Betsy Schow’s book. I am happily adding this to my favorite book list of 2015.

Spelled by Betsy Schow publishes June 2nd 2015! Make sure to check it out 🙂

brianna review templet

 

3 thoughts on “Spelled Review

    1. Wow I didn’t even read any other reviews for this one yet haha XD! I can’t express how much I loved Spelled though, I think it may be one of my favorites for this year, but we will see :).
      Hope you enjoy it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

