Book Discussion

Book Discussion-Classic Books

Heyo everyone, I was trying to think of a book discussion since I LOVE this book discussions. My British Literature class just started reading A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens so I thought why not discuss classics?

I don’t like classic books in my opinion. I don’t like them only because I can’t understand what I’m reading the majority of the time. I find it hard to concentrate and when I do concentrate I have to re-read every chapter to figure out what the heck is happening. I feel like the ideas to them are great, and perhaps they do have a moral behind the writing, but is there a point to reading a book you can’t connect with or comprehend? Is there? I can see why we should but can’t at the same time.

Perhaps people would like reading more if we didn’t read classic books in school. Maybe more people would give books like The Raven Boys (or any book for that matter) a chance. Maybe they don’t see what their missing because they think these classic books are all like the modern-day ones. I dunno, maybe I’m crazy (okay I think I’m crazy) but I suggest we have a class that has modern books so people can get into reading.

I’m not saying that everyone has to like reading, or that classic books are evil (I know they aren’t). I know there are people out there who LOVE classic books and I think it’s so cool! I wish I could comprehend what is happening 98% of the time in Pride and Prejudice, or get the metaphors or whatever it is that Romeo uses when referring to Juliet. I give all you classic book lovers a thumbs up, in my opinion, it’s like you know a whole other language. A language I wish I could understand, one I wish I could love but I haven’t yet. Keyword yet. I HOPE I find a classic book I’ll love one day, but I don’t know…

Well okay there was one classic book I kind of liked and that was The Great Gatsby 😀 but that’s pretty much the only one I enjoyed from start to finish.

Do you like classic books or not? Which one’s your favorite? Do you agree or disagree? I’d love to hear your opinions!

 

5 thoughts on “Book Discussion-Classic Books

  1. I find it hard to concentrate while reading a lot of classic novels as well. The only classic I’ve fully read and loved would be Gatsby too! I found that it was much more easier to understand than other ones that I’ve attempted. I may start trying to read some of the science fiction ones, because I feel I’d enjoy those… hopefully.
    Krystianna @ Downright Dystopian

    Like

  2. I always find it odd when people say they don’t like classics just because so many types of books are labelled classics. 🙂 Not all it is old, historical fiction written in difficult sentences. If nineteenth century British literature isn’t your thing, maybe you can try a modern American classic like To Kill a Mockingbird or The Catcher in the Rye? Or genre fiction like a Sherlock Holmes mystery or an H G Wells science fiction novel.

    But I maybe be biased in favor of classics books because I’m halfway to a master’s degree in English literature. And I love the old stuff! My focus is medieval literature.

    Like

    1. I’ve read more than just British Literature like To Kill a Mockingbird, The Invisible Man, and The Catcher in the Rye and those were okay. I feel like I’d really like Sherlock Holmes or The Lord of the Flies or the fairy tales like Cinderella ^^ I just think my school doesn’t chose the interesting types of classics for me. Maybe I should give more a try I might just find one I’d like!

      Like

  3. I have a similar problem with a lot of the classics. I didn’t like most of the stuff I had to read for high school and I think that flavored my view of the classics. I bet I could read some of them now and appreciate them more. A couple classics I do love are Brave New World and Wuthering Heights. I loved those books. But there were tons I didn’t like either. I honestly can’t read any Dickens books without falling asleep. And I have a problem with any book that has an…older, more ornate, style of writing. I guess I’m used to reading the more modern style.

    I think both types of books are important. I think everyone should try to read the classics. I, myself, want to read more of them. But modern books have value too and they should be included in the curriculum as well.

    Like

    1. I agree ^-^ I probobaly like modern books more because I’m used to modern writing more so than classic writing. It’s hard to get into a very detailed book so classics can be a bit of a challenge! Thanks for the comment ^-^

      Like

Leave a Reply

