Angelinas Reviews · Book Reviews

The Ghosts of Heaven Review

3/5

I read Midwinterblood by Marcus Sedgwick and loved it so when I saw he had another book I knew I had to read it without a doubt.

The Good:

  • I LOVED the last two parts. They really hit me more than the other two and I connected with them a lot more. Dexter was a character I could kind of relate to (I mean he’s a book/poetry writer!!!!) Plus I emphasized with him a lot.
  • There was so much creativity that went into this as well as thought. It must have taken a while to figure out a way to connect the stories like he did, and how they were connected was beautiful.
  • I loved how the story changed writing styles and point of view types.
  • Pretty much the reason I gave this book 3.5 stars was because of the ending. It made me feel like this:

The Bad:

  • I almost didn’t finish The Ghosts of Heaven because I didn’t connect with the first two parts. They just weren’t my cup of tea. The first one after a while I got used to how it was written and enjoyed it a bit more. 

Favorite Quote:

  • (Dexter talking about reading to the other patients) “We are those who are without hope. But when I read, I see, in just one or two faces, the return of something more noble.”

           “Yes? And what is that?”

          “It is their soul, crying for peace.”

Overall:

The Ghosts of Heaven wasn’t what I expected. I thought it would be more of a sad, heart breaking story, instead it was something entirely different. The first two parts I didn’t like but the last two made the struggle all the while.

Angelina review templet

2 thoughts on “The Ghosts of Heaven Review

    1. I didn’t like it as much as Midwinterblood but the ending really sold the whole thing for me. I think my mind was blown actually xD it was a beautiful book overall (despite that it was a bit slow)

      Like

Leave a Reply

