Angelinas Reviews · Book Reviews

Half Bad Review!!!!

4/5

It’s time to write my review for Half Bad and I have to say it wasn’t half bad. Sorry, I couldn’t help myself there. When I finish Half Wild I’m bound to make a similar joke. But all jokes and humor aside Half Bad is one of my favorite series and one of the few books (probably the first or second book) I’ve ever re-read. I re-read it and loved it as much as the first time, now I know it’s officially an awesome sauce book, deserving of love and praise!

Favorite Quote:

“The trick is not to mind.
Not to mind about it hurting.
Not to mind about anything.” -Half Bad

The gif that sums it all up:

https://i2.wp.com/25.media.tumblr.com/tumblr_m0h2dmE5g31qekpsao1_r1_500.gif

The Good:

I feel for Nathan so much. The writing is so good that it makes you horrified. His life is so tough and he goes through so much ridicule it’s super sad. Plus I think he’s a cool guy overall.

I didn’t like all the characters but the mean ones were really mean (no kidding!) They were ruthless and horrible and that was so good (that sounds bad doesn’t it? :o)

I love the whole idea of everything in this book, they may not use magic often, but the fights are well written and the pacing is good. The books like 390 pages of fun that keeps you reading all the way until the last pages (which leave you wanting for more).

The cover is beautiful, ’nuff said. (And the second one is just as pretty, not to mention shiny!!!)

I love how the Black and White Witches get their Gifts and powers. I love their rules, the types of powers we know of (they aren’t all typical, flame throwing, potion making powers). I love how the types of witches differed, how Black Witches loved the outdoors, how their eyes were different. Everything was new and unique!

The Bad: (And there are few bad points!)

Occasionally it switches point of view types, it goes from “I, me” to “You.” I’m not entirely sure why but it’s kind of cool. I think it’s used to put yourself in Nathans shoes, to make yourself feel for him and his situation.

When I first read this book, I looked at the reviews, and someone brought up a good point. The characters are witches but rarely use their magic. It doesn’t bother me that much, but it might be another point someones looking for.

Angelina review templet

4 thoughts on “Half Bad Review!!!!

  1. *clicks book review* *a wild G-Dragon appears*
    Hehe, I love it when that happens. A+ gif usage.

    It sounds like a really interesting book, but I do hate POV changes. And second person can take some getting used to. Oh, well, I might check it out. Everything else sounds great.

    Like

Leave a Reply

