Angelinas Reviews · Book Reviews

Silvinawynn and the Winter Solstice Picture Book Review

3/5

I received this book free from the author in exchange for an honest review, this doesn’t change my opinion at all.

I tend to not read children’s books but I couldn’t help myself it sounded quite good, so why not give it a try? So I’ll split this review into two parts, what I thought of the story and what I thought of the art.

The Story:

Silvinawynn and the Winter Solstice started where the main character already is at the winter celebration and she watches everyone enjoy themselves. You don’t really know how she got there or why she’s there but she is. There are also deities there like Ameratasu and Jesus and Father Christmas.

There were some big words in the story that I felt like kids might not understand but then again I’m not sure. An example would be the words spectacle or festooned I’m not sure if little kids would understand that.This is a book for all ages, child, young adult or adult, I would like to mention that as well.

I thought it was nice the main character was diverse in that she has Cerebral Palsy and she didn’t let that hold her back. She still seemed happy and still found love!

 

The Art:

I’m a really big art critic because I watch a lot of anime and read manga, so there’s a certain art style I like. Silvinawynn and the Winter Solstice had art that I thought was okay, there were some pictures that felt like they were made differently. I’m sorry if that sounds confusing but some people were drawn a different way then others.

Overall:

I liked Silvinawynn and the Winter Solstice, I tend to not read children/picture books but I gave this one a try. The story was okay as was the art. I think people should still give it a try since opinions differ and the main character isn’t a cookie-cutter kind of person. She’s diverse and she can find happiness!

Angelina review templet

 

2 thoughts on “Silvinawynn and the Winter Solstice Picture Book Review

Leave a Reply

