Book Reviews · Briannas Reviews

5 to 1 Review

3/5

I received this book as an eARC from NetGalley, this does not affect my review in anyway.

When I saw 5 to 1, I knew I had to read what it was about. The beautiful cover and interesting idea drew me in instantly and I could NOT stop myself from requesting it. Admittedly, it wasn’t as great as I thought it was going to be, but it wasn’t terrible. 5 to 1 was not bad at all, it just wasn’t my favorite. Out of the reviews I’ve read, more people liked 5 to 1 than those who didn’t so keep that in mind πŸ™‚

Good

♀ I’m not a huge fan of poetry unless it rhymes or makes me laugh…Nevertheless, I still REALLY wanted to read 5 to 1, in all honesty, I was a bit shocked at how much I enjoyed it. Sudasa’s chapters in verse was one of my favorite things about this book. Not only were they a quick read, but the way the author wrote them was charming in their own unique way. Seeing the words created a picture in my head, for example Holly Bodger would write something like this: bro ken or n#mber. To me, this was a really unique way (or unique to me) of conveying the image Sudasa was trying to bring to us!

β™‚ Being a huge fan of Dystopian, it was nice to see a new story diverge from the usual overthrow the government plot. Not that there is anything bad with that type of Dystopian, it’s just that 5 to 1 brought a new topic to the table I have really yet to see in books of the same genre. Holly Bodger added a new, unique element to the story that was very enjoyably (and a bit frustrating*) to me.

*I was frustrated at Sudasa’s cousins EVERY move! Gosh he drove me crazy!

♀ Books set in other countries (and worlds!) have always interested me. 5 to 1 is set in India, a country I know little about! This is both a pro and con (con will be explained below) because of it’s location. We got to read a bit more about some other place other than America, which is always interesting.

β™‚ The characters where interesting to read. While some people may not enjoy the rotating point of views (Sudasa in verse and Kirans in prose) I found it pleasant. Sudasa’s chapters where quick and easy to read (hard to put down!) and Kiran’s were filled with great writing as well. We got to get inside both of their heads and slowly, but surely understand them.

 

Bad

♀ I’ll explain my other feelings about the location now as well… Ok, India is a really cool setting, I would LOVE to visit there someday in the future. My only problem with this unique setting is that they use a lot of terminology without really explaining what the words mean. Some words can be figured out using context while others cannot so easily, so fair warning.

β™‚ While 5 to 1 was enjoyable, it wasn’t my favorite Dystopian. The book starts off explaining how the city they live in (Koyanagar) and begins with the three tests. It would have been really nice to see more outside of the testing, what life is like elsewhere. What Contestant Number Five’s life was like with Appa.

Verdict

While 5 to 1 wasn’t my favorite book, it wasn’t even close to bad! Holly Bodger creates a world where girls are scarce and in a way, sacred. Each chapter lets us know more about both sides to the society, what life as one of many boys is like, and how a girl of few lives her life in luxury (or so it seems!)!!! Read this book, give it a shot, and let me know what you thought! It definitely deserves a chance.

brianna review templet

You can also find this on the IBA here:Β  internationalbloggersassociation.com

5 thoughts on “5 to 1 Review

  1. This book sounds so good! While I’m not a big fan of books written in poetry style, I just might give this a try, since it does seem pretty interesting. Thanks for the review πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

