Book Reviews

The Girl at Midnight Review (Repost)

Yesterday the Girl at Midnight came out and if you missed my review, here’s what I thought about it!

I received the book free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review, so here it is:

The Girl at Midnight was one of my most anticipated books that came out this year. While there were several things I enjoyed about it I couldn’t help but feel a tad bit disappointed as well.
One of the best things about The Girl at Midnight was the vivid description of what not only happens but what Echo’s world looks like as well, and her world is beautiful. Echo lives somewhat in our world but with a more fantastical twist that is simply stunning. She lives with an Avicen named The Ala. There’s not much background on The Ala and who she is which was a downside, I wish I new more about her. But anyways, the Avicen are birdlike humans, from what I gathered, that are enemies to the Drakharin. The Drakharin are human like people too with scales one their skin and their ruler is called The Dragon Prince even if it’s a girl. Which is kind of weird, wouldn’t it be The Dragon Princess? Anyways I loved their worlds but wished I knew more about them other than what they looked like.

The overall concept of The Girl at Midnight is rather unique, but kind of predictable and it didn’t capture my attention as well as I would have liked it to have. The most exciting thing that happened was they mentioned Japan and visited there once. Another downside was that it started almost right into the action with no buildup of the story and changes point of view every so often from multiple characters.

Speaking of characters, they were okay. My favorite character was Dorian and he wasn’t even a big part of the story. He was a tough kind of solider with a hidden heart for hope and love and had one eye. The other characters were just a little bland for me. I loved Echo’s wittiness, strength and references to our world, she mentioned Robert Frost for example. Caius was okay as well but I felt like he didn’t do much. In fact not a lot of characters did much but talk. Then again, that’s just my opinion.

Overall The Girl at Midnight was okay, not too mindblowing, but has a unique fantasy-like world. It’s still a book I’d recommend.

Angelina review templet

2 thoughts on “The Girl at Midnight Review (Repost)

  1. Awww, I really liked Caius and Dorian was pretty cool as well. I agree that there could have been a bit more information about the two races, that would have been nice. But yeah, overall it was a pretty great read 🙂 Thanks for the review!

    Like

Leave a Reply

