Book Reviews · Briannas Reviews

A Magic Dark and Bright Review

3/5

I received a copy of A Magic Dark and Bright from the author in exchange for an honest review, this doesn’t affect my review.

Do you ever get really excited for a book? What makes you excited? For me, A Magic Dark and Bright captured my attention from the beautiful cover to the wonderful summary. I go through genre moods, so before I started reading this I wanted something scary, something to make me freak out. I love ghost stories, as long as they remain gore free! What I wasn’t expecting was what A Magic Dark and Bright was to me, in a good and bad way.

Good

❋All of the characters (well, you know most :3) were enjoyable. I loved how different each of them where, and how the author made them interact. While I can’t choose a favorite, its hard not to enjoy the story she wrote.

❋The beginning to the book was a bit slow for me, but it did pick up pace and become very hard to put back down!

❋The ending! Enough said.

Bad

❋I was expecting something more to this story, but it seemed like it followed most paranormal/young adult/general ideas. Please don’t get me wrong, there was a lot to this book I didn’t see coming and that made me excited, it was just the fact that there was a ghost, some deaths and a teenager trying to solve it.

❋I’m really good at predicting things, so this may not apply to everyone. I guessed most of what was going to happen in this book, from the ending to what was actually happening behind the deaths, then again it could just be me, you never know 🙂

The Verdict

A Magic Dark and Bright was a good read, just not what I was expecting (a super scary, heart pounding thriller). While the characters were interesting, and the plot a bit unique, I felt like this wasn’t the most unique book. Not that a book needs to be unique, but a Magic Dark and Bright did have somethings I have NEVER seen in a book before, but don’t worry, I won’t spoil them :)!

I always try to tell people to give a book a try, no matter what others may say. Sometimes I read negative reviews for books I end up loving, and the other way around.

Are you excited for A Magic Dark and Bright?

Some books you may enjoy

TheHauntingofSunshineGirlbyPaigeMcKenziesisters of blood and spirit the raven boys maggie stiefvater

 

7 thoughts on “A Magic Dark and Bright Review

Leave a Reply

