Memes

Top Ten Inspiring Quotes from Books

Another Round of Top Ten Tuesday by The Broke and The Bookish is here!

Note: Some of these may be a bit spoilerish so be warned! We aren’t going to reveal anything major ex: endings.

crown of midnight throne of glass 2Miss Peregrine's Peculiar Childrenscarlet

Crown of Midnight

“The rest of the world quieted into nothing. In that moment, after ten long years, Celaena looked at Chaol and realised she was home.”

“Why are you crying?”
“Because,” she whispered, her voice shaking, “you remind me of what the world ought to be. What the world can be.”

“Dance with me, Celaena,” he said again, his voice rough. When her eyes met his she forgot about the cold, and the moon, and the glass palace looming above them. The secret library and the king’s plans and Mort and Elena faded into nothing. She took his hand and there was only the music and Chaol.”

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

“We cling to our fairy tales until the price for believing in them becomes too high.”

“I had just come to accept that my life would be ordinary when extraordinary things began to happen.”

Scarlet

“A relieved grin filled up Thorne’s face. “We’re having another moment, aren’t we?”
“If by a moment, you mean me not wanting to strangle you for the first time since we met, then I guess we are.”

“I knew they would kill me when they found out, but…” He struggled for words, releasing a sharp breath. “I think I realized that I would rather die because I betrayed them, than live because I betrayed you.”

“A sickening howl stopped her, sucking the air out of her lungs.
The night’s chatter silenced, even the loitering city rats pausing to listen.
Scarlet had heard wild wolves before, prowling the countryside in search of easy prey on the farms.
But never had a wolf’s howl send a chill down her spine like that.”

PaperTowns2009_6A a monster calls

Paper Towns

“That’s always seemed so ridiculous to me, that people want to be around someone because they’re pretty. It’s like picking your breakfeast cereals based on color instead of taste.”

“The town was paper, but the memories were not.”

“The way I figure it, everyone gets a miracle. Like, I will probably never be struck by lightening, or win a Nobel Prize, or become the dictator of a small nation in the Pacific Islands, or contract terminal ear cancer, or spontaneously combust. But if you consider all the unlikely things together, at least one of them will probably happen to each of us. I could have seen it rain frogs. I could have stepped foot on Mars. I could have been eaten by a whale. I could have married the Queen of England or survived months at sea. But my miracle was different. My miracle was this: out of all the houses in all the subdivisions in all of Florida, I ended up living next door to Margo Roth Spiegelman.”

“Margo always loved mysteries. And in everything that came afterward, I could never stop thinking that maybe she loved mysteries so much that she became one.”

A Monster Calls

“You do not write your life with words…You write it with actions. What you think is not important. It is only important what you do.”

Stories are important, the monster said. They can be more important than anything. If they carry the truth.

There was once an invisible man who had grown tired of being unseen. It was not that he was actually invisible. It was that people had become used to not seeing him.
And if no one sees you, are you really there at all?”

firefightaristotle and dantesilver linings playbook book cover

Firefight

“You can’t immerse yourself in something,” Prof said softly, “without coming to respect it.”

“You’re like a potato!” I shouted after her. “In a minefield.”
She froze in place. Then she spun on me, her face lit by a half-grown fruit. “A potato,” she said flatly. “That’s the best you can do? Seriously?”
“It makes sense,” I said. “Listen. You’re strolling through a minefield, worried about getting blown up. And then you step on something, and you think, ‘I’m dead.’ But it’s just a potato. And you’re so relieved to find something so wonderful when you expected something so awful. That’s what you are. To me.”
“A potato.”
“Sure. French fries? Mashed potatoes? Who doesn’t like potatoes?”
“Plenty of people. Why can’t I be something sweet, like a cake?”
“Because cake wouldn’t grow in a minefield. Obviously.”

(The one above is my favorite XD!)

“My name is David Charleston. I kill people with super powers.”

 

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secretes of The Universe

“I bet you could sometimes find all the mysteries of the universe in someone’s hand.”

“To be careful with people and with words was a rare and beautiful thing.”

“We all fight our own private wars.”

“Sometimes, you do things and you do them not because you’re thinking but because you’re feeling. Because you’re feeling too much. And you can’t always control the things you do when you’re feeling too much.”

 The Silver Linings Playbook

“If clouds are blocking the sun, there will always be a silver lining that reminds me to keep on trying.”  

“I am practicing being kind over being right.”

“Life is hard, and children have to be told how hard life can be…So they will be sympathetic to others. So they will understand that some people have it harder than they do and that a trip through this world can be a wildly different experience, depending on what chemicals are raging through one’s mind.”

“You need to make time for your family no matter what happens in your life”

“When she needed help most, she was abandoned—and only when she offered help to others was she beloved.”

water for elephantsjuiet immortal

Water for Elephants

“When two people are meant to be together, they will be together. It’s fate.”

“Life is the most spectacular show on earth.”

Juliet Immortal

“Love doesn’t want people to stay ignorant and frightened. Love doesn’t value obedience over all else. Love doesn’t judge and find some lives–or loves–more valuable than others. Love doesn’t use people and throw them away. Love stays, and makes you stronger, even when the person you love is gone.”

“Fear can force obedience, but it can never transform a heart.”

“We’re soul mates,” he says. “We are forever. Our kind of love cannot be destroyed.”

“We believe the only truth is a truth discovered. Not told.”

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Inspiring Quotes from Books

  1. Miss Peregrine is so damn quotable! It has so many of my favorite quotes. One of them is “Strange, I thought, how you can be living your dreams and your nightmares at the very same time.” 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

