Book Reviews · Briannas Reviews

White Cat (Curse Workers #1) Review

3/5

You know what was weird? Really, really, REALLY weird? The fact that I finished this book March 20th, 2015 and I went to rate it on goodreads only to find that Angelina finished this book March 20th, 2012. Let that soak in… ISN’T THAT CRAZY :D? We also gave the book the same rating of 3 stars haha, weird right?

Let me start my review now that I got that off my chest πŸ™‚

The Good

✘ White Cat had a really interesting story that was easy to get into. I loved the concept of the Workers, and how their power was considered a Curse instead of Magic. There were so many different Curses with different consequences, I really enjoyed it.

✘ This isn’t your typical YA book, the main characters are mostly all boys and fight like crazy. Cassel was a great con-artist, he had some pretty amazing plans too, I really liked his characters. All of the White Cat characters were both ruthless and enticing.

✘ I LOVED the ending so MUCH, but it also made me very sad and angry. This book didn’t have a cliffhanger, jut a good, terrible ending.

The Bad

✘ While I loved the unique story, I found the plot to be a bit bland and at times predictable. True, some parts I didn’t see coming, but those moments were fewer than those I did see coming. The story was boring at times only because there were a lot of moments where Cassel told us his memories about Lila, or describing the scenery.

✘ Don’t even get me started on Lila… I really could not stand her character. Lila was stubborn, rude and very cruel.

✘ I love good villains, White Cat disappointed me with its bad guys. I’m not going to spoil anything, it’s just that I felt like they lacked very evil qualities and actions. The reason they tried to do what they tried to do wasn’t very well justified. Overall they disappointed me.

Other books you may enjoy:

the young elitesdarkest part of the forestthe raven boys maggie stiefvater

*The covers link to the review.

Have you read White Cat or any of Holly Black’s books?

brianna review templet

4 thoughts on “White Cat (Curse Workers #1) Review

Leave a Reply

