Book Reviews · Briannas Reviews

My Heart and Other Black Holes Review

5/5

My Heart and Other Black Holes was recommended to me, and I’m glad I got to read it. I think this book may have pulled me out of a two month long reading slump! I have been enjoying Contemporary books lately, this one and Paper Towns are now my favorites from that genre. My Heart and Other Black Holes was hard to read and not cry, page after page I kept having to hold back tears.

Aysel has been depressed ever since her dad committed a terrible crime, everyone keeps there distance, they’re scared of what she might do, who she might become.  It was interesting to see how Roman and Aysel’s relationship changed overtime, and how Aysel began to look forward to the future.

This book had moments that made me cry. My Heart and Other Black Holes was dark and mainly dealt with partner suicide, and depression, not light topics.

I feel like I would recommend this book to everyone, it was both sweet and sad. There were so many great quotes added in that just punched my “feels” in the guts.

If you ever need anyone to talk to about suicide or depression just talk to Angelina and I, we’re always there for anyone 😀 plus here’s the suicide hotline: 1 (800) 273-8255

♥Memorable Quotes♥

  • “Maybe we all have darkness inside of us and some of us are better at dealing with it than others.”
  • “You’re like a grey sky. You’re beautiful, even though you don’t want to be.”
  • “Sometimes I wonder if my heart is like a black hole–it’s so dense that there’s no room for light, but that doesn’t mean it can’t still suck me in.”
  • “I wonder if that’s how darkness wins, by convincing us to trap it inside ourselves, instead of emptying it out.
    I don’t want it to win.”

 

If you enjoyed this book why not try these?

the five stages of andrew brawleya monster callsmeltbrianna review templet

 

5 thoughts on “My Heart and Other Black Holes Review

  1. I really loved this book, too! I was wondering, have you read anything by Patrick Ness? I hear good things, but also that his books are pretty crazy and disturbing!! Which isn’t necessarily a bad thing 🙂

    Like

    1. OH MY GOODNESS YES EWFTHNHBFGVDSD! Patrick Ness is up there on my favorite authors list, I have LOVED every single book I read by him so far. They can be pretty crazy, the Chaos Walking books are amazing so far and I can’t contain myself for A Monster Calls!
      You should really read his books 🙂 they’re are GREAT!
      Thanks for stopping by, have a wonderful day Eden ^_^

      Like

  2. I can’t believe I still haven’t picked this up! Wanted to so for quite a while now…. I think some book-shopping has to to be done soon… 😉

    I nominated you girls for the Creative Blogger Award by the way.. 🙂 But no pressure – if you don’t want to do it you don’t have to. 🙂

    Like

    1. You should really read it Alina 🙂 I enjoyed it even though it was very sad. Book shopping always needs to be done, right?!
      Thank you so much! We will probably do it one of these days 🙂 but our internet is turtle slow right now so it might be a little while. BUT THANK YOU SOOOOOOOOOOOOO MUCH, it means A LOT to us that you enjoy our blog 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

