Book Reviews · Briannas Reviews

The Five Stages of Andrew Brawley Review

3/5

Andrew Brawley was supposed to die that night. His parents did, and so did his sister, but he survived.
Now he lives in the hospital. He serves food in the cafeteria, he hangs out with the nurses, and he sleeps in a forgotten supply closet. Drew blends in to near invisibility, hiding from his past, his guilt, and those who are trying to find him.
Then one night Rusty is wheeled into the ER, burned on half his body by hateful classmates. His agony calls out to Drew like a beacon, pulling them both together through all their pain and grief. In Rusty, Drew sees hope, happiness, and a future for both of them. A future outside the hospital, and away from their pasts.
But Drew knows that life is never that simple. Death roams the hospital, searching for Drew, and now Rusty. Drew lost his family, but he refuses to lose Rusty, too, so he’s determined to make things right. He’s determined to bargain, and to settle his debts once and for all.
But Death is not easily placated, and Drew’s life will have to get worse before there is any chance for things to get better. -goodreads.com

I’ve been so excited to read this book. I go through moods, for example this week I wanted to read something sad, now I want to read something magical, etc. Now, let me tell you, The Five Stages of Andrew Brawley is sad, SUPER SAD. I cried while reading this book in economy, while sitting at the table eating my pizza (although to be fair the pizza was hot,) and as I sat on my couch. I read this book so fast because it was easy to get into, and hard to get away from. The Five Stages of Andrew Brawley wasn’t my favorite book, while I did like reading it, it felt boring at times. For me, it lacked story. Andrew walked around the whole book trying to get his two friends together and hiding from Death, which wasn’t bad, just not what I was expecting since most of the story was Lexi, Trevor and him.

What bothered me about this book was how Andrew kept hiding from Death, and how he was trying to hide who he really was. I feel like if this book were real (which from my knowledge it isn’t,) he would have been found out a whole lot sooner.

There were a whole lot of feels to this book, so many emotions, like I said, I cried a ton. Drew did so many wonderful things for his friends, their love was sweet and so sad. SO SAD! No spoilers so I will end this thought here.

The love between him and The Burned Boy, Rusty, was a bit rushed. It felt like the love just happened, he came into the Hospital and instantly they were in love. I came into this book thinking it would be their love story, well I was wrong. Rusty wasn’t really a huge part of this book for me, it was more his friends Lexi and Trevor. We did get to see a bit of super sweet moments between them, but not enough to really feel how in love they were. I really with the author would have wrote more scenes with them together, but oh well, it is his story not mine, and it was well written.

I gave this book 3 stars because while I didn’t like it, I did. The characters were all cute (except Death) and really battled with some serious issues. Bullying is a huge problem, and while schools can say they wont tolerate it, let’s be honest, it still happens. There are a lot of heavy issues, so to speak, in this story. The comics Drew draws are graphic, and gory, there is talk about bullying, death, and loneliness, so just a fair warning.

Every review I’ve seen so far, LOVED this book, so give it a shot. It is a good read and very hard to put down, the pieces of who Drew is and what happened to his family are revealed slowly leaving another reason to turn the page. The characters are cute, with great stories and a reason to make you want to cry.

Have you read this book yet?

good quotes

I asked my father once why falling in love is such a big deal, and he told me that one day in love is worth a hundred days not in love. Maybe it’s true. I don’t know. I hope it’s true.

She’s a broken mirror. The pieces are just reflected pieces of us: our anger, our horror, our fear, borrowed and returned. She can keep mine.”

But I have to go. Death will appear soon, as she always does. She might take the boy, she might not, but I can’t be around when she comes. She arrived late before and didn’t get me. But she won’t make the same mistake twice, and I’m not yet ready to leave.

brianna review templet

3 thoughts on “The Five Stages of Andrew Brawley Review

  1. I have been pretty interested in reading this book, so I was excited to see your review! I had thought that it was more of a sad love story too, so when I get around to reading it I’ll at least know now that it’s not at all like that. For some reason, I enjoy sad books… they make me feel a lot more emotion sometimes, but I’ve never actually cried at a book! I’m sorry that you thought this book lacked story a bit, I’ll have to see what I think when I read it! Thank you for the review. 🙂
    Krystianna @ Downright Dystopian

    Like

    1. It was sad, just not as sad as I thought it was going to be 😦 Like you, I also enjoy sad books, I think it is amazing how authors can create stories that get inside your head and make a permanent impression :)! I have cried a lot during books haha, often…
      Hope you enjoy it! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

