Book Reviews · Briannas Reviews

Crown of Midnight (Throne of Glass #2) Review

 

5/5

** WARNING! There will (most likely) be spoilers for the first book, Throne of Glass! YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!**

“A line that should never be crossed is about to be breached.

It puts this entire castle in jeopardy—and the life of your friend.”

From the throne of glass rules a king with a fist of iron and a soul as black as pitch. Assassin Celaena Sardothien won a brutal contest to become his Champion. Yet Celaena is far from loyal to the crown. She hides her secret vigilantly; she knows that the man she serves is bent on evil.

Keeping up the deadly charade becomes increasingly difficult when Celaena realizes she is not the only one seeking justice. As she tries to untangle the mysteries buried deep within the glass castle, her closest relationships suffer. It seems no one is above questioning her allegiances—not the Crown Prince Dorian; not Chaol, the Captain of the Guard; not even her best friend, Nehemia, a foreign princess with a rebel heart.

Then one terrible night, the secrets they have all been keeping lead to an unspeakable tragedy. As Celaena’s world shatters, she will be forced to give up the very thing most precious to her and decide once and for all where her true loyalties lie…and whom she is ultimately willing to fight for.-goodreads.com

*Sigh* this book! It was almost too much for me to handle, these emotions, such a Roller Coaster! Honestly, I hope to be as good as a writer as Sarah J. Maas someday, now that is a goal 🙂 Her stories are SO good and gosh darn it, this book kept taking my breath away, it kept distracting me from studying (wasn’t a good idea to start a book near exams on my part heh…) Well I still did pretty good ^^! Sorry for that aside… back to Crown of Midnight.

Gosh…golly… where to start? When I said this book took my breath away, it literally did. There was so much more to this back than the first, so many secrets, so many lies 0.0! My mind was blown moment after moment, literally sweeping me away in the River of Feels.

For me, Crown of Midnight was so much better than Throne of Glass, even though I still enjoyed the first book. Only in this book, Celaena wasn’t looking in the mirror the whole time going over her reflection or dotting over the Prince, she was kicking some serious butt and much more assassiny. The book went from Assassins Princess to The Greatest Assassin.

Basically from this:

To this:

haha…

The Crown of Midnight picks up pace like bam! Pow! Right off the bat it grabbed me in it’s… uh claws? and dragged me into its deep plot and heart wrenching moments. Seriously, I can’t even give this book words, because there aren’t any that could describe how much I LOVED this book. Hold on… must calm… calming… deep breaths… I CAN’T HOLD IT IN ANY MORE HERE COME THE TEARS!

 “I worry because I care. Gods help me, I know I shouldn’t, but I do. So I will always tell you to be careful, because I will always care what happens.”

Now to my serious review hah, if I can write this with out fan girling every ten two seconds.

I feel like I start a ton of my reviews saying: where to start? Where to start? I guess I will start with the plot since it blew me away. Prior to actually picking this book up and reading it, I wasn’t sure if I would like it since The Throne of Glass wasn’t my favorite, gooooosh am I glad I did! When people say the Throne of Glass series just gets better and better, do they ever mean it!

The plot of the Crown of Midnight is really good, really really good. The whole book starts with such an attention grabber, and everything gets better from there. As the book continued, Sarah J. Maas kept adding more twists to the story and it really began to sweep me away. With every turn of the page, every end of the chapter, it all begged to be read. This book had it all, the emotions, the climax, the heart pounding moments…

The characters were as stunning as ever. I still adore Dorian but found Chaol and Celaena cute as ever! Those two, I swear! Really, the characters were all taken to a whole new level, with such wonderful personalities (uh depending on who, I’m looking at you the King >_>) each one with their own distinct mind. What is even better is that the rotating chapters and ever-present love triangle don’t hurt the story ONE BIT! Yeah, I mention the love triangle in every review but Sarah J. Maas wove it in PERFECTLY into this story, and it felt right. The love in the book felt like it belonged, like the characters had made their way up to it and love at first sight was no existent, *swoons*. Honestly, I love uh… love in books 🙂 as long as it isn’t over the top or just plain in the way :P!

“It was like coming home or being born or suddenly finding an entire half of herself that had been missing.”

Could the bad guys get more bad? Uh, yes and they really did! Throne of Glass had some of the evilest villains I can think of, but the Crown of Midnight? They went to a whole new level, the threat is there. It is best to mention that this book did have gore like the first book did, and I would say about the same amount. It’s not like the book is littered with blood, it’s just there so fair warning 🙂

“To escape death, she’d become death”

And the ending? I KNEW IT! I KNEW IT! Cue the evil laughter >:D mwhaha… this was fantastic! Honestly, the ending made me want to run in circles and cry or something, it was mind blowing!

Alright so, here are some other books you may enjoy if you liked Crown of Midnight! I chose these because they have the same general genre of high fantasy with total kick butt main characters.

seeker defy the kiss of deception

 

 

brianna review templet

9 thoughts on “Crown of Midnight (Throne of Glass #2) Review

    1. I am :D! Throne of Glass is SUPER good so far, she is such a talented writer.
      The cover is pretty!
      We did change the way our website looks but not super recently :O or did we?? I’m not sure sorry, but thank you :)!
      Have a great day!

      Like

  1. OMG. BEST. REVIEW. EVER. I agree like 100000%. I couldn’t even properly sum up my feelings of this book it was just SO FREAKISHLY AMAZING. xD AHHH. I ship Chaol and Celanea quite drastically hard. xDXD The book was just so amazing and I couldn’t put it down and, I won’t lie, the ending broke my heart. 😥 It’s still my favourite book of the 4 I’ve read so far. xD

    Like

    1. Isn’t it hard to express the love for this book in words? SO HARD!
      Chaol and Celanea were adorable in this book <3! The ending was sad, Sarah J. Maas just brought down all the feels for the second half of the book!
      You have read four :D? YOU ARE SO LUCKY! Do you mean that you got to read Queen of Shadow?
      Thanks for stopping by 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

