Book Reviews · Briannas Reviews

Throne of Glass (Throne of Glass #1) Review

4/5

After serving out a year of hard labor in the salt mines of Endovier for her crimes, 18-year-old assassin Celaena Sardothien is dragged before the Crown Prince. Prince Dorian offers her her freedom on one condition: she must act as his champion in a competition to find a new royal assassin. Her opponents are men-thieves and assassins and warriors from across the empire, each sponsored by a member of the king’s council. If she beats her opponents in a series of eliminations, she’ll serve the kingdom for three years and then be granted her freedom.

Celaena finds her training sessions with the captain of the guard, Westfall, challenging and exhilarating. But she’s bored stiff by court life. Things get a little more interesting when the prince starts to show interest in her… but it’s the gruff Captain Westfall who seems to understand her best.

Then one of the other contestants turns up dead… quickly followed by another.

Can Celaena figure out who the killer is before she becomes a victim? As the young assassin investigates, her search leads her to discover a greater destiny than she could possibly have imagined. – goodreads.com

  “Libraries were full of ideas–perhaps the most dangerous and powerful of all weapons.”

This quote makes me happy….

I’ve been meaning to read Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas for a really long time now. All the reviews I’ve read just go on about how amazing this book was, and honestly, it was just as great as they said!

Throne of Glass if about Celaena, the greatest assassin in the land, is offered a deal by the Crown Prince. She can choose to leave the slave work mines and enter a competition where she will fight other famous criminals for a chance at freedom, or she can stay at the mines… This is not all! There is also mysterious murder happening at the castle, the competitors are dieing, and its up to her to find out why and stop it.

To me, this book just sounded awesome on its own so it was easy to pick up. The story does the awesome summary justice, having a great plot and some awesome twists that left me like:

One problem I had while reading this was that, for me, the book started slow. It was hard to get into at first, but as I pushed on it just kept getting better at better! The style it’s written in took a bit to get used to, 3rd person. I don’t read many books in 3rd person, and to top that all off the chapters sometimes rotated POV or would change in the middle, there is a little symbol to tell you in the middle of chapter when they change so don’t worry about that. Rotating chapters can be frustrating, or annoying or take away from the story (or all three.) Throne of Glass did none of these, and I felt like the extra insight into other characters world made me even more excited for the next chapter.

To go off on a bit tangent, I LOVED Dorian! He was just so cool, witty and just so wonderfully written! All of the characters were, I felt like it was kind of weird for Celaena to be a assassins but so kind-hearted, though she was very sassy!

Yes, there was a love triangle and no it didn’t hurt the story. This one was well done, the triangle didn’t make her nuts or anything, she just kind of fell where she fell and didn’t mush about it if that makes any sense. It wasn’t your typical love triangle!

So yeah, the story was really great just hard to get into. The plot was nicely done and I literally could not put this book down! I look forward to the next book, Crown of Midnight :)!

I recommend this to people who don’t mind 3rd person, and love a great fantasy!!!

8 thoughts on “Throne of Glass (Throne of Glass #1) Review

    1. Dorian is awesome :D!!! He made me laugh a lot hahaha. I LOVED Crown of Midnight 🙂 the only one I haven’t read yet is Heir of Fire 😦 I keep hearing good things about that one…
      Thank you for stopping by!

      Like

    1. Everyone says the same thing haha 🙂 I’ve read Crown of Midnight and oh boy, that one was AMAZING! I hear Heir of Fire is even better which seems mind blowing to me :O I loved Crown of Midnight, how could it get any better :D? Have you seen the new book Queen of Shadows yet? It looks SO GOOD!
      Thank you for the comment :)!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

