Angelinas Reviews · Book Reviews

Some Quiet Place Review

4/5

I can’t feel sadness, anger, or fear. I can’t feel anything. I’ve grown talented at pretending.

Elizabeth Caldwell doesn’t feel emotions… she sees them in human form. Longing hovers around the shy, adoring boy at school. Courage materializes beside her dying friend. Fury and Resentment visit her abusive home. They’ve all given up on Elizabeth because she doesn’t succumb to their touch. All, that is, except beautiful Fear, who sometimes torments her and other times plays her compassionate savior. He’s obsessed with finding the answer to one question: What happened to Elizabeth to make her this way?

They both sense that the key to Elizabeth’s condition is somehow connected to the paintings of her dreams, which show visions of death and grief that raise more questions than answers. But as a shadowy menace begins to stalk her, Elizabeth’s very survival depends on discovering the truth about herself. When it matters most, she may not be able to rely on Fear to save her. -goodreads.com

Well, here’s a short review for you! I didn’t write this review as soon as I was done with the book so all my thoughts aren’t here…

Some Quiet Place was a really unique idea that I absolutely loved. A main character girl who can’t feel emotions but can see them? Sweet beans, please just sign me up!

There were many things I loved about this book, other than its unique idea. Thanks to the cover, the book had this sepia color to it. I imagined it to be like a brown hue kind of book, which added to the creepiness and mood of the book. I loved how the emotions all had their own style and how they looked like people. The bad guy was seriously terrifying and merciless and who he was I never saw coming. Another thing I loved was the writing style and the dreams the main character had, they were creepy, interesting and had an air of mystery surrounding them. Who the main character was blew my mind, it was another thing I NEVER saw coming.

Although I loved this book, there where some things I did not like. I felt like the main character Elizabeth kept cheating on Joshua. He likes her a lot and I feel like she kind of played him because of it. She acted like she liked him, in my opinion, but was always wondering were Fear was. Wanting nothing but to be with Fear. The main character was heartless, she can’t feel emotions I know, but she didn’t try to act liked she cared when it came to a few things. I mean, come on, at least act like you are sad, because if you aren’t that I think that’s just plain rude!

If you like books that have a creepy aura, young adult romance, or books with a touch of fantasy, you should try Some Quiet Place.

Angelina review templet

One thought on “Some Quiet Place Review

Leave a Reply

