Angelinas Reviews · Book Reviews

Pefrected Review

 

2/5

Perfection comes at a price.

As soon as the government passed legislation allowing humans to be genetically engineered and sold as pets, the rich and powerful rushed to own beautiful girls like Ella. Trained from birth to be graceful, demure, and above all, perfect, these “family companions” enter their masters’ homes prepared to live a life of idle luxury.

Ella is happy with her new role as playmate for a congressman’s bubbly young daughter, but she doesn’t expect Penn, the congressman’s handsome and rebellious son. He’s the only person who sees beyond the perfect exterior to the girl within. Falling for him goes against every rule she knows…and the freedom she finds with him is intoxicating.

But when Ella is kidnapped and thrust into the dark underworld lurking beneath her pampered life, she’s faced with an unthinkable choice. Because the only thing more dangerous than staying with Penn’s family is leaving…and if she’s unsuccessful, she’ll face a fate far worse than death. -goodreads.com

Initial Reaction:

Final reaction:

When I first saw this book I was like, ‘oh my gosh I have to read this.’ From the summary (I don’t think I read it all) I thought it was about a girl who was forced to be perfect. Nope. Then when I found out what it really was about, I thought that maybe she’d take this human ‘pet’ system down. No. Let me just say I am very disappointed in you fictional United States, very, very disappointed. Where would you get the idea to even keep humans as pets? To breed them so they are small and pretty, to train them so they only know how to talk politics, classical music, sing and dance? You want them to be prefect, yet they can’t read, or swim, or anything like that. All they think they want to do is please their masters. These ‘pets’, from what I get, are only girls too. Only girls who aren’t always sold to a nice master. Get what I’m saying?

Disgusting.

The story was overall okay, definitely not what I was expecting. When looking through the reviews on Goodreads, I was surprised that no one else was bothered by the fact that humans are sold as pets. Well, no one I saw really brought that fact up. Why? Why? Why? I think that’s what bothered me the most honestly, the dispicable fact that humans are sold as ‘pets’ to not the nicest of people. Oh, and they come from a Kennel, and they can be spayed and put down. Yup. Put down and spayed. Argh! Frustration, how can people be fine with doing these to living people, I don’t care that they were raised for perfection! But through the 264 pages not much happened other than Ella (the main character) being scared of being put down and loving Penn. The ending was somewhat of a cliffhanger, I guess, it’s possible there could be a next book. But if there’s going to be a next book, I’m not sure.

Ella was a ‘meh’ main character, she just wanted to please everyone. She was fine with being a ‘pet’ that was how she was raised. That’s all I can really say about her, she didn’t have much of an exciting past (she grew up in a kennel were she was trained to be ‘perfect.) She didn’t have many interests other than playing the piano, which I liked.

Penn, I think, was a tad bit more likable. He’s not into the whole ‘pet’ thing, and on that topic we both relate. He doesn’t like the fact that people can be put down, spayed and that sort of thing. He doesn’t like Ella being chained up so she can’t run free. He’s a nice guy with troubles at school (they never really tell you his troubles) and a pretty good musician too. His family doesn’t really want him to go along with his dreams of being a musician yet he’s trying to.

Really, I think all books deserve to be given a try. Even though I didn’t like it, someone else might. I suggest you try it out and form your own opinion because everyone views things differently. And this author probably spent hours writing this book to be something she loved and that love she put into this book deserves a chance, like all other books. I just did not like it.

If you like dystopian, romantic, young adult books then this is the book for you.

(I got these gifs from google by the way…)

2 thoughts on “Pefrected Review

Leave a Reply

