Book Reviews · Briannas Reviews

The Battle of the Labyrinth (Percy Jackson and The Olympians #4) Review

4/5

This is the FOURTH book, my reviews for the first three can be found here:

 

The titles are click-able 🙂 just click the title and it will take you to the reviews!

WARNING! There may be spoilers if you haven’t read the first three books. As always, I try to keep my reviews as spoiler free as possible, but I would still like to warn you :).

Percy Jackson isn’t expecting freshman orientation to be any fun. But when a mysterious mortal acquaintance appears on campus, followed by demon cheerleaders, things quickly move from bad to worse.
In this fourth installment of the blockbuster series, time is running out as war between the Olympians and the evil Titan lord Kronos draws near. Even the safe haven of Camp Half-Blood grows more vulnerable by the minute as Kronos’s army prepares to invade its once impenetrable borders. To stop the invasion, Percy and his demigod friends must set out on a quest through the Labyrinth – a sprawling underground world with stunning surprises at every turn.
-goodreads.com

Oh boy. Why do I feel like the next book is going to be packed full of the feels? I feel like everything is going to happen and it’s just going to be an emotional roller coaster. I MUST PREPARE FOR THE LAST OLYMPIAN!

This is the fourth book in the Percy Jackson and The Olympian series, and was it ever good? It was always good, always. This might just be my new favorite Percy Jackson book which so far, had been The Lightning Thief (Book 1)! There was so much I loved about this book, it was far from disappointing.

What I loved?

What didn’t I love? Honestly, what didn’t I love?!

The return of old characters, the creation of new ones, rising evil, meaningful dreams, I really liked this book…

“You’re a half-blood, too?”
“Shhh! Just announce it to the world, how about?”
“Okay. Hey, everybody! These two aren’t human! They’re half Greek god!…They don’t seem to care.”

Before reading this book, I didn’t know much about The Labyrinth, I just new the general idea that it was a maze :)… which isn’t much! I just adore how the author adds new myths to each book, how he keeps it interesting instead of just using the same one and stretching it out. Percy Jackson doesn’t get boring, it doesn’t get old and same old same old, it keeps the plot refreshing. New Greek gods, half bloods, creepy monsters, the book just keeps surprising and freaking me out!

“Chiron insisted that we talk about the Labyrinth in the morning which is like ‘Hey, your life’s in mortal danger. Sleep tight!”

And I can’t get over the characters! The idea of Half Bloods, and Mist is just so unique. The idea that a character could see through the Mist and actually see a Monster really brought on a whole lot of potential. I like all the characters, well mostly all of them… I don’t like the monsters much they are just freaky…  I DID however love how we keep getting to see Percy, Annabeth, Tyson, and Grover all grow up.  Their feelings, actions, behaviors, etc. keep changing with each book. We get to know more about other characters too, like Nico and Rachel who Percy meets in the third book, The Titan’s Curse. Rick Riordan adds so much to his characters stories and personalities like Rachels love for art, Annabeths admiration for architecture of Nico’s inability to fit in.

“People are more difficult to work with than machines. And when you break a person, he can’t be fixed.”

So much in this book I never saw coming, mostly in the last 50 pages or so. It was just one mind blowing moment after the other and I kept looking at my sister like OH MY GOSH DID THAT JUST HAPPEN?

It did… it did happen and I was left with my jaw on the floor and mind in another dimension because it was BLOWN AWAY!

These books are so easy to read, with a quick pace. Everything is finally falling into place, all the plans are in action and we are finally seeing the beginning of the results. The world is about to change, hopefully Percy and his buddies can save everyone! It’s exciting to get some answers, to see what is coming to finally be able to witness the plans and freak out over what will happen next. Honestly, this book had some surprises I never saw coming, that only makes me look at the next book and think, huh what will surprise me next? How in the world are they going to save the world? How will they defeat the evil army? And what was Nico talking about? So many questions, can’t wait!

I guess I just love Percy Jackson books period. So far no complaints, only positive emotions, great story line, funny amazing characters and an great way to add in the Greek Myths 🙂

brianna review templet

4 thoughts on “The Battle of the Labyrinth (Percy Jackson and The Olympians #4) Review

  1. Pingback: Archives -

Leave a Reply

