Book Reviews · Briannas Reviews

The Sea of Monsters (Percy Jackson and the Olympians #2) Review

 4/5

The heroic son of Poseidon makes an action-packed comeback in the second must-read installment of Rick Riordan’s amazing young readers series. Starring Percy Jackson, a “half blood” whose mother is human and whose father is the God of the Sea, Riordan’s series combines cliffhanger adventure and Greek mythology lessons that results in true page-turners that get better with each installment. In this episode, The Sea of Monsters, Percy sets out to retrieve the Golden Fleece before his summer camp is destroyed, surpassing the first book’s drama and setting the stage for more thrills to come.-goodreads.com

This is the second book in the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series! You can read my review for The Lightning Thief (the first book) here!

Thoughts before reading:

Feelings after reading:

I loved this book, loved loved loved loved it! Only, I didn’t love it as much as I loved the first one, but overall I have a lot of love for the whole Percy Jackson series. This book was good just not as good (my opinion) as the first. The ending however really brings up a moment of shock and pure excitement, I MUST GET MY HANDS ON THE THIRD BOOK! The ending exploded, and now I can only imagine what is about to unfold! No worries, as always I will keep my reviews spoiler free.

The Sea of Monsters is very influenced by The Odyssey, which I thought was really interesting. Most of what Odysseus goes through, Percy and his friends go through, the monsters are mostly the same with, as usual, a quirky twist! Having read The Odyssey, this book was really fun to compare and contrast to each other, there were enough differences and similarities to keep the book really interesting.

“Percy, we’re going to Polyphemus’ island! Polyphemus is an S-i-k…a C-y-k…” She stamped her foot in frustration. As smart as she was, Annabeth was dyslexic, too. We could’ve been there all night while she tried to spell Cyclops. “You know what I mean!”

There weren’t too many new characters, mostly just Tyson, Percy’s new friend. Of course we still have Percy, Annabeth, and Grover but even they have changed. The book was both funny and good, it was hard not to feel both bad for Grover having to pretend to be a bride and even harder not to laugh at the way the author writes his scenes. I still love Annabeth, Percy and Grover, they are the best heroes. They are young, flawed, brave, and intelligent. Each of them still have different attitudes, and don’t follow the normal kinds of characters. Percy is hilarious, I love his little remarks and the way he’s written. Annabeth is just as good, and her intelligence really helps them throughout the book. Grover, Grover is my favorite even though he wasn’t in this book too much. Grover is a great friend to Percy, it’s a relationship where they are both best friends and help each other through anything. I can’t wait to see where all three of them go :)!

“Thalia had been turned into a pine tree when she was 12. Me… well, i was doing my best not to follow her example. I had nightmares about what Poseidon might turn me into if i were ever in the verge of death—plankton, maybe. Or a floating patch of kelp.”

For me, The Lightning Thief was better mostly because it had more intense moments. Yes, The Sea of Monsters had some pretty terrible enemies, but not nearly as bad as the first book. There was trouble throughout the book, Percy and Annabeth could NOT catch a break, like ever. They were constantly on the run, plotting or planning their moves against monsters and using their knowledge in Greek Mythology to their advantage. Like the first book, it was really fun to learn new things about the Myths, like Tantalus who is known to be eternally punished in Tartartus.

“That was so completely unfair that I told Tantalus to go chase a donut, which didn’t help his mood.”

All in all, The Sea of Monsters was very enjoyable to read. As always, the book is both hilarious and wonderfully written, with both heart pounding moments and witty comments from Percy. The book has many wonderful quotes, that made chills run up and down my spine and holds a lot of promise for the next few books, which I am SO excited to read!!!

“I’m just a kid, Chiron,” I said miserably. “What good is one lousy hero against something like Kronos?”
Chiron managed a smile. ‘”What good is one lousy hero’? Joshua Lawrence Chamberlain said something like that to me once, just before he single-handedly changed the course of your Civil War.”

brianna review templet

6 thoughts on “The Sea of Monsters (Percy Jackson and the Olympians #2) Review

Leave a Reply

