Random Stuff

30(Mon)day Book Challenge- Favorite Book Movie!

Okay, books turned into movies are possibly the best idea ever, (well, other than chocolate fountains of course!) It’s nice to see your favorite characters turned to life and live the story the author gave them. Of course all books turned into movies have their pros and cons but I still can’t help but love almost all of them. This week is our favorite book turned into movies and this week both Brianna and I have the same favorite one.

Divergent by Veronica Roth

13335037

In Beatrice Prior’s dystopian Chicago world, society is divided into five factions, each dedicated to the cultivation of a particular virtue–Candor (the honest), Abnegation (the selfless), Dauntless (the brave), Amity (the peaceful), and Erudite (the intelligent). On an appointed day of every year, all sixteen-year-olds must select the faction to which they will devote the rest of their lives. For Beatrice, the decision is between staying with her family and being who she really is–she can’t have both. So she makes a choice that surprises everyone, including herself.

During the highly competitive initiation that follows, Beatrice renames herself Tris and struggles alongside her fellow initiates to live out the choice they have made. Together they must undergo extreme physical tests of endurance and intense psychological simulations, some with devastating consequences. As initiation transforms them all, Tris must determine who her friends really are–and where, exactly, a romance with a sometimes fascinating, sometimes exasperating boy fits into the life she’s chosen. But Tris also has a secret, one she’s kept hidden from everyone because she’s been warned it can mean death. And as she discovers unrest and growing conflict that threaten to unravel her seemingly perfect society, Tris also learns that her secret might help her save the ones she loves . . . or it might destroy her. -goodreads.com

So, what’s your favorite book turned into a movie? I’d love to hear about them!!!

17 thoughts on “30(Mon)day Book Challenge- Favorite Book Movie!

  1. My favorite book movie is The Hunger Games trilogy. I haven’t read Divergent, but I thought the movie was pretty good, too.

    Like

    1. I haven’t really watched any of The Hunger Game movies yet… but I keep hearing about how good they are! Have you seen the most reacent Hunger Games yet? I liked the movie better for Divergent actually, I thought they did a pretty good job keeping it true to the book even if they did change some things 🙂 Plus I LOVED the music and visuals in Divergent ^_^! Thank you for your comment 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I haven’t seen the movie for Divergent, but I devoured the book during a 3-hour plane ride. Even if there had actually been other distractions and things going on, I would have had a difficult time putting the book down. Do you know what faction you would have picked? I’m partial to Erudite, myself.

    My favorite screen adaptation of a book would have to be Bram Stoker’s Dracula. I’ve had the same copy of the book since I was a kid, and the movie was just SO beautiful. Gary Oldman does a remarkable job in it, and made Dracula as swoon-worthy as he rightfully should be!

    https://triskelereviews.wordpress.com/

    Like

    1. Divergent was good haha XD!!! I liked Insurgent the best though, a lot of people disagree o.o… I just liked it because it stressed me out, made me want to cry and scream heh… I would probably be Erudite because I love learning (unless it’s math) but I would like to think I would be Amity or something because I love kindness :O … so one of those two… BUT BUT BUT being Dauntless looks like so much fun, if only Eric weren’t such a jerky leader!
      Oh Dracula? I haven’t seen any Dracula movies yet :O I will add that to my must see list! Have you seen the new movie? I hear mixed things about that…
      Thank you for the comment :D!
      ps: you should watch Divergent ^^ I loved the movie!

      Like

      1. Eric is such a mean person, and a jerk. He doesn’t really have any justifiable reasons to act the way he does ,unless something was explained in the 2nd book that I missed out on (I haven’t read past Divergent). Dauntless is awesome, but I HATE heights, and there is no way I would make it in that group. Erudite for me!

        I’m talking about the 1992 version. It’s incredible. The new one is supposed to give a backstory, but it kind of sucked. Some of the main points didn’t make sense, and I just didn’t like it. It was really pretty, though.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Nah I don’t think he had a reason for it… only that he wants to be the toughest :0… heights are pretty horrible… I couldn’t survive the fear serum!
        I’ll read it :)! Yeah u heard the new one was bad :/ well it sounded cool though!

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh yeah!!! The Lord of the Rings was so good! I loved Aragorn too haha XD my sister likes Legolas :)! They were done so well too, it was fantastic. Did you like The Hobbit movies?
      Thank you for the comment 😀

      Like

    1. Haha thank you XD!
      Harry Potter is SUPER popular, honestly I watched my first Harry Potter movies over the summer with my host family. So it was in japanese with English subs but it was SO GOOD! I have been missing out :)!
      Isn’t she writing something new now? Are you going to read it :)?
      Thank you for the comment :D!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Omg you need to read the series haha yeah I think she’s writing a new adult novel. I don’t know if I’ll be reading it, I love The Casual Vacancy but not her other two books! We’ll see haha

        Like

      2. Oh yeah XD that is it, the short stories 🙂 Sorry haha, I only vaguely remember reading something about it.

        Like

Leave a Reply

