Angelinas Reviews · Book Reviews

Darkness (Florence Waverley #3)

4/5

This is book three in the Florence Waverley series, if you want to read my reviews for the other two books go here:

Florence (Florenced Waverley #1) Review

Luminaire (Florence Waverley #2) Review

I received this from the author in exchange for an honest review!

Talk about a lot of stuff happening in one book! Sweet beans I never saw that coming. Darkness is the third book in the Florence Waverley series and I think one of the best.

The title fits the plot very well, the wold Florence is in is beginning to sink into Darkness. Someone is plotting to destroy the human world and will stop at nothing to accomplish that. Even if it means that he will destroy both worlds in the process. It’s up to Florence to save the two worlds from the Darkness and destruction while keeping her friends and herself alive. They must fight monsters of the sea, some of which seem cute in real life, but are really terrifying while in the Darkness. A perfect example would be a Narwhal

Don’t let these cute little guys make you think they’re all rainbows and butterflies. If you let them get too close they will kill you in the Darkness. Another example, and an even worse one, would be the Azemars. Evil, creepy starfish, that rip out their guts. Oh, and they are humanoid, can laugh even better than a villain, and smile a lot. When the smile it just gets creepier and creepier. Seriously, they were the worst. Florence and her friends, some new, have to face these monsters and more. They go through so much and it seems as if there is no hope for the main characters. More and more things just keep piling onto their list of troubles until it’s just a giant hill of problems for them. Every moment was tense, some were almost hopeless, others were sad too.

Another thing I liked about Darkness was you learned more about Florence’s past. Well, somewhat. But I can’t go into too much details without spoiling stuff…

I loved some quotes in the book too, like these:

“Why are you helping me?” I asked.

“Because sometimes we must make our own choices,” he replied. “And that is not all.” He floated closer and said, “Out of all the beings I have ever encountered, few are as brave as you.”

and…

My dad used to say that the magic of photography is capturing moments before they slip away. But now, standing before Rolan, I realized what the real magic was: knowing what mattered before it vanished.

The ending, I thought, fit perfectly. I imagined something different to happen, I expected it to be kind of sad. But with all that happened, I think it was perfect. With a (somewhat) cliffhanger. Don’t leave me hanging, please don’t! I hope there’s another book!

You’d like Darkness if you like books about mermaids, fantasy books, or the first two books in the series.

For more about Florence (the series) go here: florence-books.com/

One thought on “Darkness (Florence Waverley #3)

Leave a Reply

