Book Reviews · Briannas Reviews

Defy Review

2/5

What I expected:

What I read:

Final reaction:

I started reading Defy because of two reasons, the second book, Ignite is coming out soon and the summary just won me over. I loved the whole being kidnapped by a huge sorcery and having to defend themselves in the jungle, it sounds so AWESOME! SO AWESOME! Until I started reading it…

At first, I got the preview on my nook and I thought the book would really go somewhere, I thought after reading the first 20 pages or so that this book had a lot of potential. I don’t think I necessarily thought wrong, it’s just that next to nothing happened in this book. Maybe I’m just being grumpy, but the only thing that actually happened was the love triangle. YES the love triangle.

I don’t always have problems with love triangles, as long as they are done right or aren’t a huge part of the story. The love triangle in Defy takes up the whole story. When I think fantasy, I think magic, dragons, evil wizards… not a love triangle… this wasn’t a fantasy story, it was a love story because it had none of the above. Sure there were a few short scenes with a bit of magic, but other than that there is no fantasy in this story. At all.

She kept trying to act like a boy and hide her interested it Damian and Rylan. I’m not really sure how she expected her secret to stay, but it didn’t. It was just kind of weird… having them uh *SPOILERS* know she was a girl. Why did they have to know? I feel like it would have added to the drama with them finding out… I was just bothered by how quickly the truth came out.*END SPOILERS* I was also bothered by the fact that the whole love triangle started so early on. I’ve never been in love, and I’m 99.9% sure it typically doesn’t happen that fast.

Alexa is forced to pretend to be a boy in order to join the King’s army and not be forced into the Breeding House… Yes I just said Breeding House. I agree with some of the other reviews I have been reading and the whole Breeding House idea was really unnecessary. It does give Alexa a reason for joining the army but I just sort of wish they left that idea out, it made my blood boil with anger.

In my eyes, next to nothing happened in this book but her thinking about the two boys or constantly pushing herself to be the best she can. There is nothing wrong with a strong main character, or one who pushes herself to be the best she can except in Defy, that was all that really happened.

Others may enjoy this book though, you never know a book may have a billion one star reviews but you could be that one who loved it! Defy was good in it’s own sense, just not the kind of story I was expecting. As far as Sara B. Larson’s writing, I felt like it was pretty good! She kept her style consistent and it wasn’t badly written, it was good.

So just give it a try, you never know you may enjoy it :)!

I think people who love romance would really enjoy this book since it was a huge element for the story. If you are a fan of fantasy than don’t expect a ton of magic.

Have you read Defy? Did you enjoy it? I think because I made it through this book, I’m going to have to read the next one just to see where she is going with it…

brianna review templet

7 thoughts on “Defy Review

    1. Yeah, love triangles only bother me when that’s what the while book is… that was kind of the case with Defy. D:
      Thank you for the comment! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I generally hate love triangles, so that might make me stay away. And I’m starting to distrust blurbs, too. Because sometimes it’ll say one thing, and the book will end up being a whole other thing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah I’ve been noticing that too. Love triangles are ok I just hate how they are almost always the same two types of people, one rude and the other the sweet best friend :p bothers me… thanks for the comment πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

